Windows 11 leak reveals new UI, Start menu, and more

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jun 15, 2021.

  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,610
    Location:
    USA
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2021
  2. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,506
    Microsoft releases Windows 11 Build 22000.176 for Beta Channel Insiders
    September 2, 2021
    https://mspoweruser.com/microsoft-windows-11-build-22000-176-beta-channel/
    Announcing Windows 11 Insider Preview Build 22000.176
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Whaat?! :eek: I switched to Beta already and KB5006050 took under a minute! Title bar still stone-colored!

    Step away from the DEV side, Luke! :eek:
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,610
    Location:
    USA
    LOL. We're finding a lot of color changes in the DEV version. Buttons are white that were grey before. There seems to be a lack of color to this one. I would have to assume it will come back. Maybe.
     
  5. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    665
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I must say that I did an upgrade but it didn't go well besides the installation process, system was hanging, clean installs work better
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,610
    Location:
    USA
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,735
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I was afraid that might turn out to be a better option although not looking forward to a full reformat
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,610
    Location:
    USA
    Make a disk image, do an upgrade, review the end result. If you are not happy you can restore back or wipe and start over. Options are good.
     
  9. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,376
    Location:
    UK
    the bottom line is that for most people Windows 11 will be very little different to windows 10 albeit the overall contrast is sharper' as for the layout of icons etc have been moved around and for some who like things as they are in windows, 10 might struggle to get used to it. as for being able to install it because of certain features, I don't think the public will go with it and the operating system could quite well end up a failure like windows 8
    my computer, for example, is quite advanced albeit old and falls well short for instaling windows 11 so on that basis I'm out
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,735
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Well thanks for that particular point of view @NICK ADSL UK - Seems likely I suppose. On this end sporting multiple Windows 8.1 systems which are actively productive stable systems, updated and safely secured. I might add also with the added benefit of the Custom Refresh Backup Feature Micro for some reason made it a one off. It's the BEST fallback technique of any version they ever designed for release since their inception into this O/S market IMHO. That's another story Win 7 and 10 user's sadly will never have, but I make mention of it only that those 8 user's can freely move forward with Windows 11 (on a diff machine) and attempt to wait out the improvements which Micro will need to release often to better refine 11 as a widely acceptable alternative to 10. Which may or may not suit the 10 user's.
     
  11. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,735
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    On my new DELL is full speed all ahead for Windows 11 release.

    Using the new tool this is the only amber/caution in AutoHDR. Any ideas what this is driving at?

    sshot-004.jpg
     
  12. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,285
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    • If your hardware is HDR-ready, here’s how to enable Auto HDR on Windows 10: Right- click your desktop screen and select “Display Settings” (or open the Start menu and go to Settings > System > Display ). In the Display menu, click “Windows HD Color Settings.” Make sure the “Use HDR” toggle is on, then scroll down and enable “Auto HDR.”
     
  13. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I have an older (6 years old) monitor--1920x1080, I get the same "HDR not supported." It's only "SDR," it seems. I searched it online; it's still a fairly little-known technology. Geez, Microsoft, is anything older than three years subject to your disapproval? :cautious:

    I should replace my monitor pretty soon, I guess, along with my older graphics card. . But not just for "HDR."
     
  14. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,735
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks @Dragon1952 - Looks like this brand new Dell doesn't support HDR- One would think a brand new Dell running Windows 10 surely would.

    @plat1098 - Even this 2021 model apparently isn't HDR-ready. That bites.

    sshot-006.jpg
     
  15. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,285
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Hardware Requirement for HDR in Windows 10
    Apart from checking in the Windows 10 Settings, before buying a monitor, check if there is a mention of HDR10 on the official website listing. Along with that the Display Port should be 1.4 or HDMI is 2.0. The display brightness should be 300 nits or more. Of course, it goes without saying that support from GPU is essential.

    https://www.thewindowsclub.com/how-to-enable-auto-hdr-in-window-10
     
  16. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,285
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,046
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't know about my GPU but my Sony TV isn't HDR compliant apparently.
     
  18. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,735
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I found a couple of DELL 'Urgent' updates one being Intel UHD Graphics Driver. 484Mb worth.

    Whether that produces the Sliders that currently are missing on mine that @Dragon1952 so generously pointed out in the posts above remains to be seen yet. Good Info BTW. All of them.
     
  19. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,416
    Location:
    Slovenia
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Am I the only one not brainwashed by this "soothing" sound propaganda? Sounded clunky when W11 first installed, sounds clunky now.

    Another "feature" I wish we users could adjust w/greater flexibility.
     
  21. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    930
    Location:
    Canada
    Doesn't matter to ,me as I never have my speakers turned on anyways, maybe once a week for a few minutes.
     
  22. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    665
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    enabled this hdr thing , did not see any change in games, maybe games need to suport it too, I though this is forced enabled on all games or something, like an overlay, my monitor has the technology
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2021
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,610
    Location:
    USA
    As for the HDR thing, I have a year old laptop with an i9, 32 GB of RAM, SSD RAID and a GeForce RTX 2070 Super. It does work but I noticed slowdown even on this so I leave it disabled. Personal preference of course but I feel that if you don't have it, you're not missing anything.
     
  24. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    665
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I should have bought the 2070 super laptop that 8 gig vram is useful, will switch off then, 6 gb is not enought for alot of tasks. I've seen some tests win 10 vs 11 and the version 10 is faster in games, by about 1-4 fps margin
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,610
    Location:
    USA
    I'll likely stick with 10 on this for a while. I'm still disappointed by the lack of options in 11 when you right click the taskbar. And other missing things. I'll be running 11 on a test machine for software testing but I think I'll let it cook for a while before doing any personal upgrades.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.