Windows 10 upgrade getting stuck??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by true indian, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    india
    OK.I got the update downloaded and ready to go.It was going on for a hour without a hitch and then came the dreaded part of configuring settings.It took like 1 hour to jump from 83% to 91% and then it got stuck there for 2 hours.I just cold booted the machine and it reverted back to windows 8.1 successfully.

    I have been researching on the internet and it seems alot of people are having the same issue with the upgrade getting stuck at configuring settings.Some people werent even able to revert back.Ugh! Nice work MS.
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    A word of caution is always welcomed :D
     
  3. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Had the same experience upgrading from Windows 7 to 8. I just left my PC there, went to bed and woke up the next day to Windows 8 welcome screen.
     
  4. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    Goes to show why you should always have a backup image to work from :) I wouldn't rely on Windows Update to properly revert back in the case of a failed upgrade.
     
  5. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    india
    Well for the most the revert worked just fine.For me the revert was very quick.Hardly 5 minutes.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    In recenet years the ability to rollback from a failed upgrade has improved in reliability greatly. Having said that, it is always a good idea to have a backup.
     
  7. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    india
  8. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    Yes, you mentioned all that in your opening post, which prompted my general reply. Personally I wouldn't even take the chance :)

    In my case, I worked with a spare SSD since I intended to swap the SSD back to the one with Windows 7. No issues, but I did notice that the upgrade took significantly longer to complete than it did for a technical preview from ?January.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo turn off the av. i see this issue A LOT where it blocks a system file from being altered and the upgrade fails.
     
  10. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    india
    I am currently only running Avira free? Should I turn off?
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i would try it.
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    I upgraded 4 machines yesterday. 1 of them failed to start the upgrade and I was presented with a "Something happened" dialog (real useful), but on the second try it worked. Once started, none of them had nay issues during the upgrade. The desktop had issues with the nVidia drivers, but I eventually got it fixed.
     
  13. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    I upgraded late last night. My only issue was at the start...had a corrupt file apparently in the folder so it never downloaded the program. Deleted everything in the folder, did the command prompt and boom...it went on automatic and did the rest. Took about an hour for the download and an hour for the install. The install seemed much smoother than Windows 8. Now a learning curve.
     
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    There were problems with NVidia driver updates in the preview editions. I wonder if uninstalling your existing drivers prior to upgrade which will take you back to the default MS NVidia drivers, then doing the WIN 10 upgrade and afterwards downloading latest drivers from NVidia web site is the solution?
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Don't know, but that is pretty much the was it happened after the upgrade. If I were to do it again I would try to uninstall them first.

    -Nevermind. I am reminded that if you uninstall the drivers they get put right back. You would need some kind of driver cleaner to make it stick.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  16. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    Out of curiosity I reverted back to Windows 7 to see what the process was like. Took less than ten minutes, but wifi passwords and folder preferences were lost. Nothing major seemed broken.

    Still, can't imagine on relying on the mechanism instead of a backup image. The paranoiac in me would always be wondering what things had subtly gone wrong in the background ;)
     
  17. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Same thing happened to me but I was not as lucky as you. My install got stuck at a point further into the install. My PC is now totally useless. I cannot fix it in any way.

    Can't Reset or restore. Requires Windows 10 disc.

    Cannot access my USB Recovery drive.

    LOL If I go to System Restore It's labeled Windows 10 System Restore with no restore points.

    I have a set of retail 8.1. Discs but the Upgrad wiped out my CD/DVD drivers and did not install Windows 10 drivers, Also those discs are registered on an old PC I no longer have
    and I believe you have to deregister them from the PC they were registered on. Also my Microsoft security code which would be needed is was stores in my PC. Was thinking about getting an external DVD that comes with its driver on a disk but not sure that would work.

    Thus there is no. way to make my PC. useable.

    I smell a class action against Microsoft on the horizon.

    I just had to orderedl a new PC from Amazon. Using a Kindle Fire to write this.

    I am stunned by the incompetence of Microsoft.

    MICROSOFT YOU TOTALLY -$)@!!!!!
     
  18. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    Plenty of ways to fix things if you first checked all your assumptions. Next time take a backup before doing a major operation.
     
  19. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I uninstalled my AV before "Ugrading and read what happened to me.

    BTW: My install happened during. the installing drivers_second part of destruction. Seeing a totally blacked out screen for four hours said to me FAIzLURE. I then did a power down and rebooted. Guess maybe that was a mistake. I was hoping that would in jam it or do something/anything. Should have gone to sleep and hoped for the best. But four hours w/o seeing ANYTHING was too much for me.

    Totally borked a fast 4 month old PC.

    I can not be w/o a PC for more than a day. Maybe someday I will figure a way to fix it. Maybe the manufacturer can restore it.
     
  20. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    india
    Sorry to listen about your issue hawki.I was thinking about retrying the update but now after reading your reply I am not even going to do it till its all figured out.
     
  21. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Read those Reddit links 's in one of the posts above.

    This will. Be one of the top tech stories/embarrasments of the decade.
     
  22. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I will never down load W10 again. I can't afford it

    I just lost a $1,400 4 month old PC cause of W10.
     
  23. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Assumptions. Like what?

    True I don't do imaging but who is to say that would have worked when every other recovery and reinstall method failed?
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Imaging would work. I've imaged both win 7 and win 10 and restore back and forth. And when my W10 upgrades have gotten buggered up(happened quite a bit) restoring the image got me back to where I could try again.
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Why would it kill your $1400.00 PC? Do you mean it's dead can't be used? LOL I just don't understand what your actually saying?

    TH
     
Loading...