Windows 10 problem..

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by wasgij6, May 29, 2016.

  1. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    I am trying to remove my email from the "accounts used by other apps" section in windows 10. When i select my email then select remove the settings app crashes and my account does not get removed.

    I am trying to use the built in calendar app but anytime i try and sign in to my gmail account it gives an error. To try and fix this im trying to remove the account completely and re set it up but its not working.

    does anyone know of a way to forcefully remove my account from windows 10?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
  3. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
  5. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    60
    Right click on this account and then click on Manage on right bottom corner.
    It opens Microsoft website (Your account) and all Your account details are there.
    Also all registered products, which are related to this account.
     
  6. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
  7. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    539
    Location:
    United States
    What your talking about will require completely deleting the account. It's a caveat of cloud support baked into Windows 10.

    "Even after you delete your Microsoft account from the local computer, all its data and the personal information stored inside will still be held on Microsoft’s own servers. To get rid of it entirely, you’ll need to use the tool on the Microsoft website itself.

    Note, before you completely delete the account, be sure you’ve emptied out your digital wallet from the Windows Store, canceled any subscriptions that might be tied to the account, and backed up any documents, pictures, or personal data you want saved on a separate hard drive from the one your OS is installed on. This way, you can be sure that even after the account is closed, you’ll still have access to all your files in case you need them again at a later date".

    Source:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/227763/how-to-completely-delete-your-microsoft-account/
     
  8. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    Thank you for the info. I don't want to delete my account completely I'm just trying to get the mail and calendar app to work. It works fine on my laptop but I keep getting that error on my desktop.
     
  9. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    after some heavy digging i finally figure out the problem. many other people were also having this problem one user said they fixed the problem by re enabling the onedrive service. After reading this i remembered using sybot anti-beacon when it was first released. I remember this program disabled the onedrive service. There is a portable version of this software and it has the capability to undo any changes. After re enabling the ondrive service using anti-beacon everything seems to be working again.

    Thanks everyone for the help.
     
  10. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Rather than create a new thread, I thought I'd use this existing thread. Upon upgrading my desktop from Win 8.1 to Win 10, I received a boot loop. After some restarts and unplugging and re-plugging in my power cord, everything appeared ok. However, one issue/problem remains.

    I use Macrium Reflect and the MR boot menu. When my boot menu pops up, it gives me a choice of Windows 8.1 or the MR Boot menu. Yes, it says Windows 8.1. Yet, when it boots, it boots into Windows 10. Anyone have an idea why the boot menu says Windows 8.1 yet my Windows version is 10?
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,050
    The boot menu stays the same unless you updated it in Win 10
     
  12. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
  13. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,441
    Windows 10 is a service.

    Microsoft eventually will transform Windows into a cloud OS like Google Chrome OS.

    That's the future.
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,050
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,142
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    In my four upgrades (one from Win 8.1, three from Win 7) the boot menu did reflect Win 10 after the upgrade. But I did rebuild the boot menu afterwards, and recreate the rescue media in each case.

    Maybe Other Tasks > Add Boot Recovery Menu Option > No Menu first, then again with Win PE 10 option, then also (re)Create the rescue media?
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
  17. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Do you need to re-boot the PC or close out MR after the "No Menu" and before re-adding the Win PE 10 option?
     
  18. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    People get mad when I "GIYF" them LOL. But you are right. Sometimes I'm not so obvious as the Google answer I present is way buried in the search. So I pluck it out for them.
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    It's the first time I have seen GiyF. :thumb:
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,887
    Location:
    Australia
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,142
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Not sure, but I don't think so.
     
  22. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Peter, I apologize for resurrecting an old discussion. But, I just noticed that when I reboot my machine, it still says "default operating system Windows 8.1" even though I am running Windows 10. (When I go into Control Panel->System->Advanced System Settings->Startup & Recovery it still shows Windows 8.1 as my default.)

    I did do as Paulderdash suggested "Maybe Other Tasks > Add Boot Recovery Menu Option > No Menu first, then again with Win PE 10 option, then also (re)Create the rescue media?" I closed out of MR in-between the No-Menu and adding Win PE 10 to the boot menu.

    Is there a piece that I am missing? Do I need to re-build the PE files when I am creating the rescue media?
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,050
    Just so I understand, when you boot your system it says it's Win 8.1 and you are actually booting into Win 10. If so it just means the mbr things it's win 8.1 One of my systems says win 7 and the other one says Vista even though it's booting into win 7. I could change it with boot fix in macrium, but it's not hurting anything so I don't bother.
     
  24. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Correct. When I boot up, the boot menu pops up. It gives me the choice of booting into Windows 8.1 or Macrium Reflect. HOwever, my machine is running Windows 10.

    Plus, when I go into "Startup & Recovery" in Control Panel and look at my boot options, it states that my default is Windows 8.1.

    Your right, it doesn't appear to be hurting anything.
     
  25. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    You could try EasyBCD to edit the name and correct the "problem".
     
Loading...