Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,481
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    focus,

    Maybe a silly question but did you try installing again?
     
  3. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2015
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    131,792
    Location:
    Texas
  5. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    Tried this, no difference. I'm going back to an old image, before I did a disk cleanup and driver updates and see what happens.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    131,792
    Location:
    Texas
    Worked for me on one computer. There are other options listed on that page.

    Did you upgrade and then run the disk cleanup tool?
     
  7. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    Just had a successful update on an old image. Fast update, no hesitations.
    Image was before disk cleanup (Yes ronjor, upgrade then a few days later disk cleanup) and numerous W10 driver updates from Dell. I have another image after disk cleanup and before driver updates I'm going to try next. Thank goodness for Macrium, full restores in 5 minutes.
     
  8. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,084
    How can I trigger the W10 install?
     
  9. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    Quoting myself :)

    Successful update after disk cleanup but before new driver installs. Dell issued updates for pretty much all of the drivers (and BIOS) for the 8700 series, one or more of these seems to be doing something bad to the update process. Probably (imo) the video driver, I have seen them fu, err mess things up many times before.

    In looking around for a fix for this I found a fix for blurry text boxes at 125% DPI: http://windows10_dpi_blurry_fix.xpexplorer.com/ . I didn't install the program, but the compatibility fix works great.

    Cheers
     
  10. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,007
    You can use the Media Creation Tool and choose "update this pc now" option. That will upgrade you. However, I don't know if there would be any adverse effects if you've got partially downloaded files sitting around your current install. I would think it would be fine, but I ran the tool on a clean Win 7 (didn't reserve 10 etc)...

    Link: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/media-creation-tool-install
     
  11. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,084
    Thanks, that is working. :)
     
  12. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    427
    As RJK3 said, yes to all three. That's what I did last week (Never ran the assessment tools, just made an ISO) though I am not *currently* using Windows 10 and when I used my last test build (NTlited) it took a few tries to 're-activate' though in the end it finally went through. Activation seems to take some time during busier periods when servers are over worked but it eventually goes through as long as they already have your HWID stored from the original 'upgrade'. That being said I've read a few horror stories where things didn't go as planned so as always (to be safe), make sure you have a full backup of the OS before trying to upgrade OR doing a clean install after the fact!
     
  13. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    523
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry if its been posted already. Those of you who like myself like tinkering with default services. Black viper has released Windows 10 services configurations.

    http://www.blackviper.com/service-configurations/black-vipers-windows-10-service-configurations/

    I have a batch file that automatically saves and restores the state of services. Although I have not tried this on windows 10. Still have not got around to upgrading. So if someone could please confirms this still works?

    "Run the batch script to generate to services start state backup script. The generated back up batch script file will have the name in the form of Services_Day_DD_MM_YYYY_HH_MM.bat to avoid any accidental overwrite when user does multiple export or backup.

    As and when the Startup Type state of all services in Windows requires to be restored and reset back to its earlier working state or value, simply run the generated .bat script on the time and date wanted. Note that when restoring, the batch script must be run as administrator in full priority elevation mode."

    Code:
    TITLE Services Start State Backup Script
    @echo off
    @echo ========================================================================
    @echo Windows Services Start State Backup Script (C)
    @echo ========================================================================
    @echo.
    @echo This script will backup all services with current state of Startup Type
    @echo.
    pause
    
    REM Get current date and time
    for /f "tokens=1, 2, 3, 4 delims=-/. " %%j in ('Date /T') do set FILENAME=Services_%%j_%%k_%%l_%%m
    for /f "tokens=1, 2 delims=: " %%j in ('TIME /T') do set FILENAME=%FILENAME%_%%j_%%k.bat
    
    REM Get all service name
    sc query type= service state= all| findstr /r /C:"SERVICE_NAME:" >tmpsrv.txt
    echo Saving Service Start State In %FILENAME% ...
    
    REM save service start state into batch file
    echo @echo Restore The Service Start State Saved At %TIME% %DATE% >"%FILENAME%"
    echo @pause >>"%FILENAME%"
    
    for /f "tokens=2 delims=:" %%j in (tmpsrv.txt) do @( sc qc %%j |findstr  START_TYPE >tmpstype.txt &&  for /f "tokens=4 delims=:_ " %%s in (tmpstype.txt) do @echo sc config  %%j start= %%s >>"%FILENAME%")
    echo @pause >>"%FILENAME%"
    
    del tmpsrv.txt
    del tmpstype.txt
    
    echo Services Start State Saved in %FILENAME%.
    pause
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    @TS4H Your backup batch file is working fine when run as an administrator. I got a few errors about the file being in use when I didn't run it as an administrator.
     
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,604
    thanks for the heads-up, buddy. :thumb:
     
  16. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    523
    Location:
    Australia
    Much appreciated roger_m. Hopefully someone will find it useful.

    regards.
     
  17. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,084
    Can I delete Windows.old file since I won't be going back to my old OS? I installed W8Pro just to upgrade to W10Pro on a partition. My main OS is W7.
     
  18. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    If you have no intentions of going back, yes. You can use the disk cleanup tool within Windows or CCleaner also has an option. There is generally a 'migrated' user folder within User that can be deleted also.
     
  19. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,084
    Thanks. Freed up 15gb.
     
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    131,792
    Location:
    Texas
    http://winsupersite.com/windows-10/...n-set-productivity#slide-0-field_images-57841
     
  21. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    I realize that Kim Komando is an alarmist, however, this is of interest and may have already been discussed. I hope that it won't be long before someone will offer an app that lists all of the privacy settings, and from which, one could enable/disable them from it!
    Edit: I guess one is out!
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,131
    Location:
    USA
    This reminds me of what Facebook settings were like at first. I just went through the privacy section and turned off everything that seemed irrelevant or excessive.
     
  23. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,084
    Yes, but make sure when installing to do custom, it has bundled programs with it.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,802
    Location:
    UK
  25. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,247
    I need someone to give my advices about new Windows 10 security and protection options:
    Here is the thing at October I'm going to buy fresh new computer with Windows 10 installed:
    I have some questions:
    Is Windows 10 firewall enough or is better and more secure to use and install some of the third-party software firewalls and which one for example?
    What about Windows 10 antivirus, is it better to install Avira for example?
    Anything else I need to know?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.