Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,325
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Yep, same here. I was going to update my Toshiba Laptop to Win 10 but I guess I'll wait a few months. I just don't have a good feeling about updating now. In a few months MS should iron out most of the bugs. :isay:
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Yeah, that's very true. Sometimes it might be better to just have patience and wait for a while. I'm going to try the media creation tool now. If it work, then great, if not, then I'll just stick with 7 for now and see what happens down the road...
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    if every one made a full image with a good program i see zero issues in upgrading then even with any issues you can restore the image and be fine. imo NEVER do an upgrade anyway without a backup image first
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    123,608
    Location:
    Texas
    Right click on the tool and run as administrator
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    There must be something other than the Windows upgrade process that's causing issues for some. It can't just be the Windows 10 install process alone because it works for others. Like for like installs surely contain the same files so it has to be put down to how different systems are set up.

    As far as my experience goes, I upgraded a Windows 7 Home PC to Windows 10 Home using the Media Creation Tool method. This was done with AV enabled too. It worked without any problems like those some have reported. I got three updates after the install but none were related to drivers. The only thing that surprised me was the fact Windows was not activated; this did happen though after clicking on the Activate button a third time.

    I do hope others who are trying to upgrade manage to do soon.
     
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    Yep!
     
  7. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    779
    Okay, let me know if you can successfully upgrade to Windows 10 later. I was eyeing for this as a cheap netbook, and want to know how it goes with Windows 10. I wonder how much disk space will be left. :)
     
  8. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    No the local vs MS Account is irrelevant to Windows 10 activation, so don't worry :) It'll activate even with a local account.
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,073
    I put the SSD from the ThinkPad T400 I use daily into the other T400 I had upgraded to Windows 10. With the switchable graphics still disabled, and video set to use the intergrated graphics, I was able to do the upgrade to Wimdows 10. The installation beacme stuck near completion at "setting up your apps." After some minutes of no SSD access I shut down and the laptop. When I powered it on again, Windows 10 booted.

    Windows 10 is running fine. My antivirus (Advanced systemCare Ultimate) and all my other software I had installed under Windows 7 is still there. I had some brief issues after enabling switchable graphics again in the BIOS, but everything is working now, except I haven't got the right switchable graphics driver working just yet.

    In Device Manager I have one unknown device, which I have not been able to resolve with Lenovo's System Update, Lenovo Drivers Management, or other dirver update software. Aparrently it is the TPM driver. But, I was unalbe to get a Windows 8 Lenovo TPM driver to install. I'm not too worried. I really should have run System Update as soon as I out the SSD into the other laptop (with slightly different hardware) as I'm sure it would have found and install the driver under Windows 7.

    The only major issue I have now, is hardware related and nothing to do with Windows 10. My laptop's CPU was getting very hot (e.g. 85 degrees C) - I guess there is a lot of dust preventing it from cooling properly. For now I have kept the temperature down by installing ThinkPad Fan Control and making the fan run constantly.
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,073
    I should add that to do the upgrade I had to use a Windows 10 ISO. This was the case with two Windows 7 installations. I was able to download the Windows 10 update with Essnetial Update Manager and get it to start. But once the initial upgrade window closed, nothing else happened. On my Windows 8.1 computer, shortly after the first windows closed another one opened and I was able to proceed with the upgrade.

    I did not need to enter a product key when using the ISO to install Windows 10, and it was automatically activated once Windows 10 booted.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    I didn't see your post in time, and I just ran the media creation tool normally (no admin), and everything worked great. It took some time on my machine, but I must say, everything is perfect. I'm in 10 Home now, and all my apps and programs and data are here, everything works, even my shortcuts and taskbar items are there, everything. I'm activated and all set. I have to say this was one really good upgrade. I give it an A+. I was ready for anything, and am pleasantly surprised by how good it turned out. Now I'm all set. :)
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm starting to really like Win10.

    One bug - Search has stopped working a few times. Ending search in Task Manager gets it going again. Anyone else seen this?
     
  13. Mirjalovic

    Mirjalovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    In Your Heart
    why can't i search app anymore on start menu like in vista/7/8 ?
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You can. Have a read of my post above yours.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
  15. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    365
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,845
    hi
    maybe it's an insane question
    but where are my programs :(
    can not find them , start menu i got only apps
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    click all apps and scroll through them
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,845
    thanks
    but i can't find programs like photoshop ,7-zip or others only apps
     
  19. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,437
    Another solution (modifying registry entry) for the 80240020 error brought by Microsoft staff. Please read here. Be careful playing with registry and always do a backup before you modify them.

    Important note in the post of Microsoft's moderator.
    This solution is definitely better than deleting download folder because as stated above, the upgrade download is not corrupted.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
  20. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    523
    Location:
    Australia
    I tried as well, twice.. Failed both times. Tried a third, then reached my data limit. Internet became capped. Lol. Massive Fail. Have to wait till tomorrow for a new billing cycle to begin.
     
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,447
    Location:
    Slovenia
    One question for those that updated from Windows 8.1 to 10: how responsive is new system. Does it feel snappier, slower or the same?
     
  22. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    YMMV: noticeably sluggish on an i5 m520 laptop compared to Windows 7. The technical preview I used in ?January had been slightly more snappy than Windows 7. At some point I'll try a clean install on a spare SSD.
     
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    good to hear that.thanks a ton.
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    do you guys think ati 2013 can take a snapshot of a win 8.1/10 installed system and restore it successfully? or i'll need ati 2015 for that?
     
  25. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.