Windows 10 Anniversary Update + third-party AV solutions

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by webyourbusiness, Aug 5, 2016.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Since when??
     
  2. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    it's not so much a bad idea, as one we recommend to customers with default settings on ESET - because startup scans on less than brand new hardware a noticeable, whether you notice them or not, I do - and many of our customers complain that ESET makes their machine 'slow to respond' at startup. All modern machines have a sleep or hibernate mode. That's just as good as a full power-down in my opinion.

    I notice that my machine also takes a very long time to startup dropbox from a power-cycle, but less time when coming up from sleep mode - and because I generally sit in front of my machine *WHEN I WANT TO USE IT* - and I think many people do - the sluggishness or slowness is super annoying. Now for those with SSD equipped machines, perhaps this is less of an issue, but I have a modern drive (less than 2 months old) - and lots of RAM - and still I notice that my machine is slower to power up and return control to the mouse/windows from a power up.

    If your experience is different, that's fine also - it's just our recommendation and I don't see it changing until we're all on SSD machines and startup scans are instantaneous.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,574
    Location:
    USA
    The reason people do a full shutdown is that sleep mode does not work well on all machines, even some of the recent Dell models we have purchased. Sound will not work, network drivers will not load properly, USB devices have issues, and some other 3rd party AVs have major issues with sleep mode. I'd rather deal with the extra wait time than the issues caused by sleep mode.
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    those are valid points - if I had problems recovering from sleep mode I'd think twice about it.
     
  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    Power management is one of the worst parts of Windows. Configuration is very confusing and must be done through several different interfaces. The OEM´s power plans and programs complicate this even more, especially in laptops.
     
  6. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118

    I'm not saying that any AV is better than the other I'm just pointing out that articles like these should be considered as a product promotions more than independent reviews. You are doing business and of course the product you are earning profit from 'is better' than free alternative which could be just enough for the most of users.

    It reminds me of Microsoft's "Edge is the best browser" benchmarks. Of course it is the best as Safari is the best browser in Apple's benchmarks. :)
     
  7. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    USA
    Probably the best way to avoid conflict when upgrading to Windows 10, or upgrading to a major new version of Windows 10, is to temporarily uninstall your AV and then activate Defender before the upgrade. When the upgrade is complete, re-install your AV and Defender should get out of the way on it's own.
     
  8. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    875
    Location:
    usa
    My main AV is Bitdefender Total Security 2016.

    In your provided link, it shows how to enable "limited periodic scanning":
    "Navigate to Settings -> Update & Security -> Windows Defender. Turn Limited Periodic Scanning on."


    I canot find anywhere that "Limited scanning" on my computer".

    WD.PNG

    Also, after updating my PC to Win10-AU, now I have that icon in my toolbar from turned off Windows Defender, "PC status: At risk", but Control Panel shows no issues.
     
  9. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,398
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    It's enabled by default in Win 10 AU. I have seen it attempt to run by reviewing the log it creates in the Win temp directory. The scan starts but immediately terminates because WD is disabled by virtue of using a third party AV.

    Bottom line - there is no way to run the WD limited periodic scanning when a third party AV is installed.
     
  10. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    "WD limited periodic scanning when a third party AV is installed."

    I run it all the time but I don't have an av installed. at some point one of my security solutions did shut WD off though, just can't remember which one.
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    http://www.ghacks.net/2016/05/27/windows-10-periodic-scanning/
     
  12. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I looked at control panel and it was cylance that disabled Defender.
    I remember I had to manualy enable limited scanning.

    the app also says you get real time protection if cloud is enabled. see screen shots.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    875
    Location:
    usa
    Here is what it WD says about disabling it:
    Wd-2.PNG
     
  14. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    875
    Location:
    usa
    Info from your link:

    "In other words, Periodic Scanning becomes only(! - zmechys) available if a third-party antivirus software is listed on the Security and Maintenance Control Panel applet of the Windows operating system."

    Here is my control panel current view:
    ControlPanel.PNG

    But "Limited scanning" is not visible/available.
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    IDK, other than family with Win10 Home AU + Norton have LPS.
    Perhaps post to http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/51514-limited-periodic-scanning-turn-off-windows-10-a.html
    and Norton info re LPS https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/home/current/solutions/v118532580_EndUserProfile_en_us
    Maybe, LPS is regional.
    http://winsupersite.com/windows-10/...riodic-scanning-windows-10-anniversary-update
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2016
  16. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    zmechys

    did you turn on periodic scanning?

    in windows 10 au you click on start, click on settings, click on update and security, click on windows defender.
     
  17. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    875
    Location:
    usa
    Here is the deal.
    I've installed and I'm using Windows 10 but I don't want to use "Edge" (it cannot be sandboxed), I don't use "Cortana", and I don't use for sure Windows Defender among other highly advertised Microsoft privacy invasion tools but...
    Until Windows 10 AU, I've had no problems with turning off WD without even thinking about it.
    Now just today, I've got two requests from WD - that I turned off - to scan my computer.

    I truly believe that Microsoft is OVERreaching by imposing(!) its Anti-privacy tools on the consumer.

    P.S. Why is Cortana always running after I'm desperately trying to shut it down.
     
  18. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    ok I guess I misunderstood and thought you were asking how to turn on periodic scanning with WD.

    at my age I don't need privacy for anything :'(
     
  19. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    875
    Location:
    usa

    Now, I think you misunderstood me.
    It's my computer and I'm not using Cortana; therefore, I want to TURN IT OFF.
    It's my computer and I'm not using FREE Windows Defender. With my money, I've purchased Bitdefender, and I don't want Windows Defender to run on my computer. Is it TOO much to asko_O

    About Privacy.
    I truly believe that EVERYBODY needs privacy! I don't want to start any unnecessary conversation about "Privacy Law".

    P.S. Director of the FBI James Comey famously puts tape over his webcam, now he wants you to do it too.
    https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2016/09/16/fbi-director-james-comey-wants-you-to-cover-your-webcam/
     
  20. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I don't have a web cam or mic :thumb:

    I do have a very old iPhone though.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.