Win64 + Java + Eset NOD32

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by islandjoe, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. islandjoe

    islandjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Has anyone seen any problems with a combination of

    Eset NOD32, Windows 7 x64 and Javao_O

    Symptom is computer locking up hard approx 5 to 10 minutes after startup of Java app. (This is on a clean install) Nothing recorded in Event Viewer.

    Switching between 32 or 64 bit version of Java made no difference, neither does switching between Java 7 or 6.

    Uninstalled Eset and problem goes away.

    Have found sporadic mention of this issue on other websites...

    Anyone seen this before?
     
  2. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  3. islandjoe

    islandjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Latest version of EAV -> 4.2.71.2
    (Now uninstalled, have had no lockups all morning, going to re-install it later and see if problem re-occurs)

    Yes, Firefox is default browser, version 6.0.2

    Operating system is Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, Service pack 1.

    Problem does not occur when running in safe mode btw.
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  5. islandjoe

    islandjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Re-installed latest (64bit) version of ESET, system froze up almost immediately
    after starting java-app.

    Running eset now with all the java binaries in the exclusion list.
    (Bit of a mission, about 6 different versions installed in various places in system, but I think I got them all)

    No crashes so far.
    Edit: Nope, that didn't work, laptop locked up hard while I went to have some lunch.

    Will submit log later today.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  6. rockshox

    rockshox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Posts:
    261
    I have the exact same setup Windows 7 x64, NOD32 and Java 6 Update 27 without any problems. We have several java applications and don't have any problems running them all day long.

    You mentioned it was a "clean install" of Java but also mention 6 different versions, so that does not sound very clean. Have you attempted to uninstall all version of Java via Programs and Features. You can also check C:\Program Files\Java or C:\Program Files (x86)\Java and confirm that there aren't any other versions floating around. Then do a fresh clean install of Java.
     
  7. islandjoe

    islandjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    It is a clean install of Java SE 7, but there are a number of applications that
    install their own version of the JRE, so it is relatively easy to accumulate a fair
    number of installs.
    On top of that, some applications insist that you have the 32-bit version installed as well, so I've probably got more than 6 copies installed in various places.
    It just means that using the exclude program/file feature in Nod32 to stop it interfering with the Java apps is not as simple as excluding one folder or program. I added 6 or 7 java folders to the exclude list, but the lockups kept happening.

    I've been able to consistently crash my laptop by starting a Java app with Nod32 installed, but when we uninstall Nod32 the problem goes away.

    So I'm going to leave it for a week and see if I have any more hard lockups. If I do, then it is not NOD32. I was getting several hard lockups per day with NOD32 installed, so we'll see how it goes next...
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    First of all, narrow it down to the module that is somehow involved in the issue by following these steps, one at a time:
    - disable real-time protection
    - disable web access protection
    - disable all protections
    - disable HTTP checking
    - disable automatic real-time protection start and restart the computer

    Does any of the above resolve the issue?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.