Win32/Adware

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Marauder, Jul 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Firstly I did use search!

    Ok a file seems to have this Win32/Adware but I believe the file is clean, are their any other symptoms if I really had it?

    edit: did a check with http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ and it says Im clean but nod32 doesn't :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2005
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Marauder, welcome to Wilders.

    Can you please copy the log file entry and paste it here.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Can you tell us the full name of the "virus" (Win32/Adware.o_Oo_O?), as well as the name of the file?

    Adware is not really a true virus, but is a type of file that is often used to display advertisements on your computer (for example, unwanted popup ads coming out of nowhere to advertise porn sites) or to send information about your browsing habits back to an interested party.

    Sometimes it is attached to a program that has an otherwise useful function, like an extra Internet Explorer toolbar, or a utility to keep time with an atomic clock. The user often has no idea this is going on, but he may wonder why his computer seems to run slower than it used to.

    There are other times, though, in which the user is fully aware of what is going on with the file, and is OK with it. That is why I ask the full name of the virus and file, so we can find out if it really is clean and if it does what you think it does.
     
  4. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Arr I just looked into this more and this is one of those times. :)
    It's not running 24/7 it can only run when I initiate it and I am aware of what it is doing.
    Hmm but now nod32 won't allow me to use this software at all :( hmm ohh well time to delete that clock thing.
    edit it's now deleted :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2005
  5. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    So was it an atomic clock program that you were using? The reason I ask is that Windows XP has one built in, and you may not know about it. Just double-click on the clock at the bottom right of the screen, then go to the "Internet Time" tab. :)
     
  6. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    alglove yes it was a atomic clock program, I will just use the xp one I think :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.