Win10 official ISO available

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Umbra, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,210
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    Thnx, downloading it now...
     
  3. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    Many thanks :)
     
  4. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Can we upgrade to win 10 inside win 8.1 and also make an iso using this tool?
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    It looks that way since it gives you both options.
     
  6. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Thanks:) But drivers for win 10 is not yet available for my laptop. But MS compatibility tool says there are no issues. My laptop has AMD switchable graphics for which drivers can only be obtained from the laptop maker. Will drivers for win 8 work with win 10?
     
  7. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Can you immediately do a clean install with this ISO and your old 7/8.1 key or do you need to do an upgrade of your existing installation first to "upgrade your key"?
     
  8. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    IDK about that. You should probably contact your laptop maker or check their site for information.
     
  9. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    Have to first do the upgrade to convert the key, then after that can do a clean install. I believe from a technical standpoint, the upgrade is a clean install with certain files and settings transferred over. Not quite the same thing though.

    I plan to convert each of my product keys and save the resulting images somewhere - then revert back to Windows 7/8.1 afterwards. This gives me the future option of using Windows 10 if I want to, and having a spare SSD makes the whole process a lot easier.
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    Maybe. You could install the driver update software Drive The Life. If you select Download, there is an Evaluate tab which will let it check to see which of your devices will work under Windows 10. However, just because a device is listed as not being supported under Windows 10, does not guarantee that it won't be supported.

    Other than that yoou could install Windows 10 and see if the switchable graphics works. Bear in mind, that unless it is a very recent model, there's a very good chance that your laptop maker will never publish Windows 10 drivers for your model. Sadly, most laptop makers stop offering driver updates for thier laptop within around 6 months of the model being released. However, they may publish a suitable driver for a current model using switchable graphics. In which case, Drive The Life should be able to find the driver.
     
  11. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    I would test that assertion; AMD drivers may work or user-modified versions of it (I've done that in the past). I'd check here first: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/LaptopsFAQ.aspx# and ask AMD if the answer weren't there.
    Unless the upgrade invalidates your Win7/8 keys, which I think it does. I also don't think the "free" upgrade comes with downlevel rights. Note that this is coming from my memory which would have memtest errors from time to time had my person have a bootable CD-ROM. :thumbd:
     
  12. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    I think you have 30 days from the windows 10 upgrade to roll back to previous OS as long as you don't use disk cleanup to remove the previous OS install. After that you would have to clean install your previous OS.
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi
    but is there a way to download the iso , to make a fresh install , i mean without my license
    in case i want to intall on a friend pc

    thanks
     
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    You can do that with this tool - download ISO, burn it on DVD and install on other machine...
     
  15. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    No, it's been said repeatedly that we retain the original product keys :)

    We can reinstall the original OS at any point - all within the licence agreement of course. Restore an image, swap a HDD/SSD, do a clean reinstall, or the Windows Update mechanism keeps the files needed for a downgrade for the first 30 days.

    In my case, one of my machines had an OEM licence for Windows 7. I upgraded to Windows 10 on a cloned SSD and took a note of the product key, then swapped back to the original SSD to return to Windows 7. This gave me both a legitimate Windows 7 and Windows 10 product key to use at any one time on that same machine.
     
  16. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
  17. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
  18. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I was just looking at which version of Windows 10 I will be upgraded to if I upgrade from Windows 7X64 Ultimate, and I would be upgraded to Windows 10 Pro. Windows 10 Pro does not have AppLocker so if I ever decided I wanted to use AppLocker I would be out of luck. I'm not sure if I will upgrade any of my PC's now unless I can get the Enterprise Version for an additional fee. I will contact Microsoft soon, and see if they would be willing to do that. https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/WindowsForBusiness/Compare
     
  19. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    To Windows 10 Pro.

    Check out the Upgrade paths:

    Upgrade10.jpg
     
  20. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  21. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, that's what I was saying. I think maybe Microsoft might be willing to allow users to upgrade to the Enterprise version with an additional fee. It seems like it would be a win win situation for them.
     
  22. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    334
    Never found a use for AppLocker myself (never got it to work w sandboxie [on previous win builds] , but I -do- *want* to make use of the unified write driver which exists in Win 10 PRO but can't seem to be enabled without an Enterprise edition, eg domain rules rather than local... I'd happily pay 50 bucks for the ability to use/adjust that. I thought it was enabled but like AppLocker it seems Win 10 Pro is coming up short in that regard...maybe if I had started my test w Ultimate it would be different? What I've read thus far doesn't seem to support that theory.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i can answer most questions. i was told they will not be doing this. they may offer a slight discount on the ent version but i was told they have no plans to offer any pro to ent step ups. this may change down the line but im doubtful. there is even a fully stripped ent version which is awesome imo without all the data collecting and "spying" but it does lack a number of other things as well
     
  24. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    What a bummer! I was hoping to get a reasonable discount to upgrade to the Enterprise version. What do you mean, "a fully stripped ent version"? Does the enterprise version come with a lot of data collecting services that can't be shut off, or is it just a pain in the you know what to turn them all off? I had to disable about a dozen data collecting services in Windows 7X64 Ultimate in task scheduler that sent Microsoft usage statistics, and who knows what else. It said Microsoft's User Experience Program was an opt in service, but I know better. I always opted out of any data collection services when asked. Microsoft turned them on anyways without my approval. I have my machine also configured to only download important updates, and allow me to opt in on anything else.
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r

    Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB (Long Term Servicing Branch) 64-bit.

    It comes without Edge or Cortana, without the Photos app, without Windows Media Player, Camera, Music, TV & Movies, Skype and so on.

    No store or apps at all.

    The classic calculator is there. After changing the Group Policy Windows Update setting of Automatic Updates, you can freely scan for updates but it will not automatically download and install them. This option is ignored on the normal, non-LTSB Enterprise version which still automatically downloads and installs them.
     
Loading...