Win10. GPT partition table. Possible to deploy only reserved partitions & C: ?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by exus69, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    Hello,

    I've been searching for a solution to this problem since almost a year now with no success. I've tried Clonezilla Server & Acronis Snap Deploy 5 and both have failed. Have already posted on their forums with no solution in sight. Am pretty sure there HAS to be a solution or a workaround for this since its quite an important OS deployment requirement which everyone must have faced.

    Ok so here's the scenario. I need to deploy Windows 10 64bit to 15 computers. Each of them have a lot of data stored on their D & E drives and backing up each of them would be too time consuming. So I want to deploy Win10 on each of them in such a way that only the reserved partitions before the C drive and C drive itself would get deployed leaving the other partitions as they are. The only workaround I've come across is running the following commands during Win10 setup by pressing Shift+F10:
    • Diskpart
    • List disk
    • Select disk 0
    • Clean
    • Create partition primary
    • Select partition 1
    • Active
    • Format fs=ntfs quick
    • Exit
    The above commands remove the reserved partitions before the C drive so then I can easily take an image of only C drive and go ahead with OS deployment with other partitions intact. However, they also change the partition table from GPT to MBR which I don't want.

    Can anyone please help ?

    Thank you :)
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,875
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    exus69,

    We need a little more information so here are some questions.

    Are "D & E drives" partitions on the same HD as the OS? Or are "D & E drives" two extra HDs in the computer?
    Which OS is in use at present?
    Can you provide a list of the partitions on HD0 including Labels, Total Size and File System for each partition?
    How would you like the list of partitions to be on the Win10 64bit computers?
     
  3. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    D & E partitions are on the same HDD as the OS not on other HDD. There's only one HDD on all target comps.

    Win10 64bit

    The source image is as follows:
    450MB NTFS (Reserved Partition)
    100MB FAT32 (EFI Partition)
    120GB C Drive
    GPT Partition Table

    450MB NTFS (Reserved Partition)
    100MB FAT32 (EFI Partition)
    120GB C Partition
    350GB D Drive with data
    500GB E Drive with data
    GPT Partition table

    Thanks
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,875
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Got it. But I'm confused as you want to deploy Win10 64bit to Win10 64bit computers. What am I missing?

    Can you use your TBOSDT and...

    list hd 0 /f /u /w (or it might be... list hd 1 /f /u /w)

    You will find another partition. Where is it in the partition list?

    Is your 450 MB partition Reserved or Recovery?
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,852
    Same as Brian. (confused about your partitions layout)

    @exus69 use "diskpart" with the commands
    "detail disk"
    and
    "list volume"
    on the source system and on one of the destinion systems and post the screenshots

    Panagiotis
     
  6. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,552
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,875
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    We can't view your jpg images. No permission.

    Your answer to deployment is multi-partition backup/restore. I do it several times a week on my test computer but first we need to understand your partitions.
     
  8. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    Want to deploy on systems currently running Windows 7 64bit. 450 MB partition is Recovery partition not Reserved sorry my mistake.

    Although I've purchased TBOSDT and have used it then but haven't been using it since quite sometime now. Nothing
    wrong with the program. Its very good but just wanted one with GUI and as much ease of use as possible.

    Please see the attachment. Also there's a 16MB MSR partition between 100MB (EFI Partition) & C drive which is not shown
    in the disk management. The attached pic is the source(test) system with Win10 64bit installed with data in D & E drives.
    Btw, the attached pic is not the actual pic of the test systems disk layout. I was doing some other work and quickly wanted to
    post a reply so grabbed a pic from the internet. But the layout is exactly the same for the partitions which I want to image
    & deploy.

    Not abandoned at all. Its actually hit a dead end where am finding it difficult to deploy using Macrium Reflect
    although I just realized I need the Technician License to do the same but it seems they are not providing
    trial version of the same

    Thanks for reading :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,852
    With terabyteunlimited Image For Linux it is very easy to perform this.
    First with the partition manager of IFL you delete the Win7 (the first 4) partitions.
    Then with the IFL you restore the image on the free space, do not select the entire disk, select only the 4 partitions of windows 10 (partial restore)
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,875
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    exus69,

    I'm not comfortable we have enough information to start image/restore. I'd like to see...

    list hd 0 /f /u /w /s /a=2048

    ... for the source system and one of the destination systems and post the screenshots. You can do this in Windows by right clicking tbosdtw.exe and clicking Run as Admin.

    Are all 15 destination systems the same hardware? Is the source system the same hardware as the 15 destination systems? I noticed a hardware incompatibility error in your other thread.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019 at 3:26 AM
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.