win 7 action centre and prevx

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by kasperking, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    hi..joe this is a new one o_O i am running just prevx as my security cover... i think i'll drop it altogether for time being.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    i'm sure you realise that the bug in no way affects Prevx ability to protect the system
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Indeed - the Windows Security Center is an unreliable way of managing the status of security software. The most reliable way is to look at the GUI, and yours is fully protected :)

    Could you please try uninstalling/reinstalling to see if that corrects it? We've had a couple users report this now but we haven't changed anything in the security center integration. We're looking to see if Microsoft has changed anything in a recent Windows update but we'll hopefully have this behavior fixed soon!
     
  4. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I know that there used to be a bug in Windows Vista where this message was shown for other AVs. Microsoft fixed this when they bought out Service Pack 2 for Vista.

    This could easily be a bug in Windows 7. An obvious work around is to turn off the reporting from windows security centre, or ignore it.

    I am running Vista and PrevX is reporting in the correct format for me :D
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I also have no problems on Win7 Ultimate 32bit and on my VM's XP Pro SP3 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit and Win 7 32bit are fine on them also!

    TH

    EDIT: Well I'm going to have retract my statement that all was fine on my main system Win7 32bit in action center there was no sign of Prevx, so what I did is uninstall via Start Menu and did a reboot and checked to see if there was any leftover files which there wasn't and Downloaded a fresh copy from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta for 32bit/64bit new installations or from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta64 for a manual upgrade for a 64bit installation. And after learning scan entered my License key then went back to Action Center and Prevx was there under AV & AS! But the VM's are all fine!
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Microsoft has changed the security center significantly in each version of Windows so there is likely to be some difference in results across each. One thing to note is that Prevx requires a full license to integrate into the security center (otherwise we could be misleading the user as the evaluation version does not include full malware blocking).

    It could also potentially require a reboot to fully refresh the security center status, however, we are currently re-testing all of the security centers individually to ensure we're integrating properly where we should be :)
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've finished retesting the security center integration and have found an incompatibility with Prevx and its reporting. We'll have this fixed in the next build - thanks to kasperking for bringing it to our attention! :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.