Will you be Folding@Home for team "Wilders Security Forums"?

Discussion in 'polls' started by MakoFusion, Mar 18, 2007.

?

Will you be Folding@Home for team "Wilders Security Forums"?

  1. yes

    14.3%
  2. no

    52.4%
  3. I already fold for another team... (please post team #)

    33.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Hear what others are saying about the Folding@Home project.
    The current list of projects include:
    What?

    Before a protien can perform its main funtion it will go through a process known as folding. But alas: What happens if a protien folds incorrectly? Serious consiquences can emerge and that is just not good thing. :( Therefore biologists have the need to simulate what shape the protien will be under different folds.

    Why?

    In the past I have folded for both the AMD forums and BigBlueBall.com, but now I am seeking to start up a new team right here! In addition I am currently folding work units that will be gracially donated to the new team. If a certain forum with 61,500+ members were to embrace this challenge we would be doing more than just helping cure diseases. I have observed that in forums who take folding seriously there is a sense of family and respect amoung its members. (Moreso than forums who don't fold yet...) Those who currently fold for other excellent teams could no doubt tell you this. Our ten-foward has now been closed off and truth be told that doesn't make us look very good to new members. Are things really that bad now? A folding team could be just what this forum needs.

    How much is this gonna cost me?

    Consider that if you already leave your computer on 24/7 the expense to help cure diseases is point moot. For just the cost of the electricity to run the computer one can help in the fight to save lives! :) Consider the many hours you spend on your computers fiddling with those security programs and posting here in the forums. This is an excellent time the Folding@Home client can run in the background since your computer is already on. In fact since the program runs in the background at an 'idle' priority one can even fold while gaming. It will simply just use what ever CPU cycles are left and fold at a slower rate but every little bit helps. As you might have guessed the folding process will be fastest while one is not using their computer, but if you leave it on 24/7 anyway these can be use as hours of peak folding perfomance.

    What else can be done?

    A subforum dedicated to this project for Team "Wilders Security Forum" would be going the extra distance in helping get more people onboard for a worthy cause. Here are a couple of examples from other forums...
    AMD Forums -> Distributed Computing sub-forum
    CastleCops Forums -> Folding Proteins sub-forum

    FAQ:

    Q: How can I learn more about the Folding@Home project?
    A. From the Folding@Home website.
    Folding@Home Distributed Computing

    Q: Won't this program just slow down my gaming/security programs/etc?
    A: One site asked just that and tested it out for themselves. You can take a look at the report here -> http://techreport.com/etc/2002q4/foldingimpact/index.x?pg=1
    However allow me to just cut to what they had to say as their conclusion...
    Q: Aren't the supercomputers that currently fold enough already?
    A: No! While the folding process may happen in a few microseconds in real time, simulating this process on a computer is by far much more time consuming. To give an idea of just how much work is needed consider this...

    1/1 millionth of a second = 1 microsecond
    1/1 billionth of a second = 1 nanasecond

    You need a very long series of computations to simulate the folding of a single protein. In fact it might take a supercomputer all day just to fold a protien for 1 nanasecond while the real life process goes on in the microsecond range. There is still much left to be desired in terms of gaining computational power to decrease this time gap. The more computers (processors) that join in the effort - the more we can bridge this gap. Your computer will be working together with many other computers to create a virtual supercomputer!

    Final thoughts:

    Other distributed computing projects exist such as Seti@Home which analyzes radio telescope data for signs of extraterrestrial life. However be forwarned that this is certain...
    I see a few signed on members have read this thread and keep coming back to it. A quick reply on your part would show and help spread support for Team "Wilders Security Forum" http://www.mreggsalad.net/smile/helpsmilie.gif I was folding the entire time this post was in the making.

    The "Wilders Security Forum" Team Info:

    Our stats page
    Team name: "Wilders Security Forums"
    Team #: 54406
    Grand Score: 525
    Work Unit Count: 2
    Team Ranking (incl. aggregate): 17811 of 48300

    Simply input the number 54406 as your team along with your own unique username and you are set. There is both a Windows and Linux version.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Currently I fold for Maximum PC Team 11108.

    I don't know yet if I'll fold for Wilders, but I may set one of my PCs for it.
     
  3. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    That would be cool... I may just end up folding for this team for a while.
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  6. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Congrats on getting the first WU on the board for us! I've also got a WU now up on the board as well though it was not worth as many points.

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v177/WhiteMateria/stats002.png

    I'll admit that folding on Linux is a bit slower than Windows but the program is still up and running. In fact I'm working my second WU right this very second!
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  7. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I must admit that I've never before heard of this Folding@Home. But it certainly seems to me as a good thing to do :thumb: , so I instaled the software and joined. My PC is on 24/7 anyway :) .Just a question: how long will it take to get my first WU?

    EDIT: Oh, never mind, I got it. It's all there in the display window.
     
  8. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Awesomeness! Welcome to the team The Seer. In ethier the Windows or Linux version if you need to close it out don't just hit the x button at the top right. Hold down [Ctrl]+[c] to terminate folding. If simply "X"ed out enough times the current WU will then get errors and you will have to start over with another one. Same goes with shutting down Windows or Linux without properly ending the program first... It is one of the few problems I wish they would fix.

    BTW Here is something else for you to look at... You can find out just how much credit you will recieve for the WU you are folding now at this page.
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/psummary.html

    My current work unit is as follows...
    Project Number: 3041
    Server IP: 171.64.65.58
    Work Unit Name: p3041_p3030_supervillin-03
    Number of Atoms: 9684
    Preferred (days): 36
    Final deadline (days): 53
    CREDIT: 186 (this is what will be added to the team stats page once I have finished & recieve credit for this unit)
    Frames: 100 (this will differ from what your client tells you so pay little attention to it.)
    Code: GROMACS
    Description: "Based on structures from previous villin simulations we have conducted, this class of projects delves deeper, obtaining a better statistical picture of the folding process."
    Contact: densign

    How about you? What WU did they assign to you?
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  9. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Helo MakoFusion :)

    It is similar as yours - p3040_supervilin-03.

    But if I X it it simply minimizes to the taskbar, and if I want to close it I'll do that right-clicking the taskbat icon and quitting. Is this OK? And although my first WU is complete, my name is still not in the list. I suppose that will be updated. I can see they don't update that list so frequently. Just another Q: if I uninstall the client from this machine and install it on another, my WUs will normally stay the same?
     
  10. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Eh I don't think that is OK. Try the [Ctrl]+[c] I mentioned instead. Seems to be safer. The list usually takes a few minutes to update. Uh if you install it to another computer then you will be given a totally new WU @ random but it will be one based on the settings you assign to the program.

    Example (Linux client): Decisions that affect which WU you may get are in bold.
    Basically units will fall under one or the other in several catagories. They are as follows:
    large or small
    deadline or deadlineless
    advanced* or standard
    CPU or GPU unit

    *advanced units can be thought of as in beta. They might cause errors sometimes - if you wish for stable and more tested units select no to the -advmethods. These are for new projects in the works so some people may wish to select yes to this option.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  11. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    You are on Linux, I am on WinXP. Ctrl+C does nothing on my client. So I don't see other way to exit the program other than quiting from the taskbar. OK, I understand it, at least I think so, my WU is not completed yet, it was just the first frame ;) (now there are 47), WU requires a few days. Well, if I see some isues I'll repost back here. Thanks MakoFusion. :thumb:
     
  12. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Yup! Most of these WU will require a few days to complete. Some serious mathamatical computations going on behind the scenes here... Don't thank me. Thank you!

    Edit: I figured it out. I am so used to the text-only console version whereas I think you are on the graphical client.The [Ctrl]+[c] only applies to the text - /DOS menu or Linux terminal/.
     
  13. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I remember reading recently that a few companies have gained the necessary licenses to use Playstation 3 for Folding@home projects. They said each system has the capacity to do complex calculations up to 10x faster than any standard pc.

    Just an FYI I thought I would share.


    Article
     
  14. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Thanks Capp. :thumb: Useful reading.
     
  15. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
  16. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hey, can someone explain me something here, MakoFusion or anyone? It seems that something is not very right with client on my PC. I am folding for a few days already, but my first WU is barely half-finished. I've given it 50% priority of CPU, but it is stil very slow. You guys are doing it much quicker. How? Here is my hardware config:
    AMD dual-core 4200+, 2GB RAM, nVidia 7600GS with 512 MB. Any hints?
     
  17. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    To make a short story shorter it is because

    1. I'm using the text based console only instead of graphical one
    2. I choose the options for smaller WU (less than 5MBs)
    3. Linux folds roughly 1.4x faster than Windows... or so they say.

    BTW Exactly which client did you download and are using?
    What processes are running on your computer? It may be that something is zapping your CPU cycles away such as a resident antivirus scanner, etc.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
  18. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    Question:

    If you use the console version only, once it is started can I close the dos window (since I see it running)o_O

    Then, how can I check the status?

    Thanks
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  20. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello. :)

    Thank you for replies.
    MakoFusion,
    I was a bit quick, so I picked the first link thus downloading a graphical client (5.03 I believe). Regarding your second answer, I have this checked (it was not default, I changed it):

    fah.png

    so that explains it. This PC is pretty much stripped of unnecessary software, and I don't have much processes running except resident NOD and FD-ISR, so nothing is really chewing up my CPU cycles here. When I finish this WU, I'll consider moving to a console. I'll have to study this folding some more, this is completely new thing to me.
    WSFuser, thanks, those links are useful also.
    See ya all, and my regards,
     
  21. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Even though NOD is a very nice and light footprint resident antivirus scanner that is exactly what I think is sucking up your Folding@Home cycles. If set to idle then I think it uses only the unused one. A resident scanner by any name no matter how light is constantly using the CPU to check files as you use your computer. Now I don't advise you to just throw away your AV at all. Just since I'm on Linux I'm not running a resident AV like I did on Windows.
     
  22. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I wouldn't be blaming NOD. Resident NOD uses very little CPU cycles, not enough to affect the F@H client. This is of course much higher when on-demand is running. I never use on-demand and this PC is pretty much idle. I am surfing on another.

    I set the CPU usage on 50% in client

    fah3.png

    But in taskmgr the process shows 28%.

    fah1.png

    As you see, the system is 72% idle. This is interesting also:

    fah2.png

    So, the client actually uses 50% of the second core and barely 15% of the first. Maybe it's just the way it works on dual-core.
     
  23. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    You actually have the ability to fold on 2 clients at the same time. One for each core. Set the CPU affinity for proc 1 on one and proc 2 on the other. Ensure both are on the 'idle' setting then just ramp up the CPU usage to 100% for each. Then it should be taking up all of the CPU cycles from that 'System Idle Process'. Since it would only be taking that which is leftover after everything else is happy it would not interfer with other stuff.

    Core 1 for F@H Machine ID 1 - 100% of all idle cycles
    Core 2 for F@H Machine ID 2 - 100% of all idle cycles
     
  24. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    OK, I will set it up then with the console version simultaneously.

    Cheers :thumb:
     
  25. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Cool! If you wish to utilize both cores, one for each version, then setup two seperate folders. The easy way would be to just download two copies and put one in each folder. Then you can set up one for CPU 1 and the other for CPU 2 but not both. You have the ability to do about twice as many work units in roughly the same amount of time since I only have a single core chip. Since both of them running would pulling from the memory at the same time opt for the smaller units, less then 5MB each.

    Back when I was on Windows my programs and folding would take up 100% of the CPU cycles. The other programs came first and then whatever was left was fed to F@H with nothing to show in the 'System Idle Process'.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.