Will rescue CD made under XP work on Vista?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by David07666, May 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. David07666

    David07666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    I have TI version 10 running on my XP machine and back up to my USB drive. I also own a laptop running Vista (alas:doubt: ). If my XP machine dies (ie, not just the HD crashes, I mean the machine itself won't turn on -- this happened to me once, temporarily) can I use my rescue CD (created on my XP machine) on my Vista machine to recover the backup files located on my USB drive? Before I started to unhook everything I thought I'd ask.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Yes, it will boot up to the Acronis menu, but unless you use one of the True Image packages that can take the Universal Restore option, it would be very difficult to restore your XP backup image on to your laptop - if that was your intention. Oh, wait ... is that just a Files and Folders backup? In that case I'm not sure as I never use TI for files and folders. The cd will boot though. I use Windows Explorer to save my documents in its native format.
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If you have made a full disk bckup from within, say Vista, yu can use a vista-based bootcd or an xp-based boot cd to restore the file so long as the ATI version involved is 10 for version 9 or 10 backups, Version 11 for version 10 or 11 backups.
     
  4. CorkyG

    CorkyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    As far as the Clone function goes, absolutely! That is the beauty of the Rescue Disk. It is actually OS independent - it runs under its own Linux variant.
     
  5. David07666

    David07666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    I would only be interested in recovering files. I'm not talking about a full disk backup, just a backup of MyDocuments. I should have made that clear.
     
  6. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi David,
    If you're interested in restoring ''My documents'' only, you don't have to use the rescue disc to do that.
    Just recover from within Windows,through the restore menu.
    Tht rescue disk is intended to reboot your OS when Windows cannot run.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2008
  7. David07666

    David07666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    babac: I don't have TI installed on my Vista laptop.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello David07666,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    As mentioned by DwnNdrty and CorkyG, Acronis Bootable Rescue Media is independent from the computer it was created on. It uses its own (Linux) environment to operate the hardware of a computer it's booted in. You can find more details on Acronis Bootable Rescue Media in this Acronis KB article.

    So, you will be able to restore files/folders from your archive when booted to your other computer. You can find instructions on how to do that in chapter 6 "Restoring the backup data" of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.