will nod32 prepare for u3?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by dRag0nMa, Jun 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dRag0nMa

    dRag0nMa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    SH China
    these days, u3 is more and more common.
    will nod32 be ready for u3?
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I gather you are talking about THIS?

    Cheers :D
     
  3. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    It would definitely be good if eset had something for u3, currently avast is about the only decent option imo.
     
  4. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    That's pretty damn cool.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We'll see. I got my first U3 about a year ago and I can say it's a pretty good gadget except the fact that you cannot configure U3 not to run automatically from within the program whenever you plug it in (except disabling autorun for all removable drives). On certain computers U3 does not even run and throws an error which is annoying for me given that I use it mostly for transfering data.
     
  6. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    I am using Avast, but i would definately intrested in Eset version if they produce one!

    Kristian
     
  7. chmiller

    chmiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    I use a U3 also, but since it is only used on my computer at work or at home, both of which use NOD32 I don't worry about any AV on it. But obviously the whole point is to be able to plug it into a more public computer so a U3 version of NOD would be nice.

    Marcos is right that you can't just plug it in if you only want a file off of it without starting up the whole U3 Launchpad, and any programs that you've set to start automatically.

    Another recent alternative to U3, which can be run on any USB flash drive, and does not have the same autostart is PortableApps. Also pretty cool.
     
  8. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    What are you talking about, guys?

    The only thing you need to do to disable the U3 Launchpad is to hold down the SHIFT key when inserting the U3 drive to the USB port. This basically prevents Launchpad from initializing (in this session only).

    Cheers
    Vlk
     
  9. chmiller

    chmiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    He. Oh yeah, so it does. But I'd have to read a manual to know that. :ouch: Thanks for the tip.
     
  10. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Shift key prevents "auto play" in any media..including CD's. Old trick..not just from a U3 manual. ;)
     
  11. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Never knew about that one.
     
  12. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Thanks, very useful tip!:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.