Will Acronis 10.0 backups be overwritten?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by al1974, Jan 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. al1974

    al1974 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Running Acronis True Image Home 10.0. Whenever I try to create a backup location on a certain drive, Acronis hangs. I have decided to set up two full backups and just let the old ones get overlaid. I created the tasks to do this but I want to make sure of two things:

    1. The task will run automatically to completion and not hang asking if I really want to overlay the old backup.
    2. That in fact the old backup will be overlaid and a new full one will not be created, in which case the hard drive will fill up quickly with backups.

    Are the preceding statements true?
    Thanks,
    Al
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If you are asking whether ATI10 will automatically delete an old backup in a Manged Backup Location after ATI10 successfully makes a new backup and the limits for the backup location specify one less backup -- e.g., the limit is set at 2 full backups and you use ATI to make a 3rd -- the answer is yes. After the 3rd is succesfully created, ATI will delete the oldest backup without asking.

    ATI10 creates the new backup before deleting an old one; If it worked otherwise and started to create the new backup after deleting an old one, if the new one wasn't created successfully -- say you source disk was getting wonky -- then you would lose one of your good backups even though a new good wasn't availalbe to replace it.

    This holds so long as you set the limits and so long as, when you create the task you select the target from the Backup Locations and not elsewhere on the directory tree.

    sh
     
  3. al1974

    al1974 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    No, that's not what I am asking.
    I create a folder on my external drive called "Full Backup".
    This is not a managed backup location just a regular folder.
    A task creates a new full backup archive in that folder.
    This is a full backup, not incremental.
    The next time that task runs will it replace the first tib file
    or will it create a new one, thus using more hard drive space?
    Will that task run successfully every night without intervention, always replacing the old backup file with a new one, or will it fail with errors?
     
  4. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    In a regular folder, it will replace the existing file. I'm not completely certain, but it looks to me that once the new backup starts and until it finishes, you are without a current backup, as TI appears to be overwriting the old file.

    Should run OK, but I strongly suggest that you either take advantage of the managed directory feature or set up at least two Scheduled Tasks, to run on different days, so you always have at least one good backup that isn't being overwritten. I managed my backups this way prior to TI 10 and the managed directory addition. It ran per my schedule without intervention. But I gotta tell ya, IMO managed directory is the way to go.
     
  5. al1974

    al1974 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    By IMO managed directory are you talking about the 'backup locations' you can set up in 10.0? Because when I try to create backups locations on certain drives Acronis hangs and I have to end the application using the task manager.

    I assume this is a bug in Acronis. I asked a question about this earlier but the answers I got, deleting and reinstalling Acronis, didn't work. Since I have limited time to pursue problems like this I intend on getting around it by setting up two backups on alternate days - but I want to make sure that will work and not use up all my disk space.

    Acronis is undoubtedly the best product of its kind, but unfortunately there are quite a few flaws in it and I'm not sure how responsive the developers are in fixing those flaws.

    Thanks,
    Al
     
  6. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    Al,
    I had no trouble at all with the alternate day scenario in version 9. Just a few days monitoring should let you know if it's doing what you want. Hopefully Acronis will get a new release out soon and get rid of some of the bugs. Good luck. -CF
     
  7. al1974

    al1974 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks again,
    Al
     
  8. Steve1209

    Steve1209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Hi Al1974,

    CatFan432 wrote up a really nice set of instructions on setting up a managed backup folder in a schedule. I do nightly FULL only backup's only and his write-up made my nightly schedule work like a charm for me. See this thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=160930
    the 4th post down he attached a document.

    Hope that helps you out,
    Steve
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello al1974,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    The task to create a full backup will indeed overwrite the previous full backup with same name without prompting.

    Please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, unpack the archive, install unpacked MSI package and see if the problem persists.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to help us investigate it thoroughly:

    - Replace C:\WINDOWS\system32\snapapi.dll with the one from the downloaded SnapAPI archive;
    - Reproduce the issue and collect the log file;
    - Get the log file without closing any application windows (including the error message windows if there are any). The log file will be created at C:\ . The name of the log file will be snapapi [date-time].log

    Please also create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.