Wilders security forums being blocked by malware

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Baz_kasp, Jan 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London
    Kaspersky issued a "moderate" severity advisory on the "kido" worm...according to their write-up, looks like this forum has caught the attention of the malware creators.... you lot should be proud this place is that popular :D


    http://www.viruslist.com/en/viruses/encyclopedia?virusid=21782725

     
  2. EraserHW

    EraserHW Malware Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Italy
    It's a variant of Conficker/Downadup worm, already isolated at the end of December. It blocks DNS queries to various security related websites.
     
  3. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  4. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    SSupdater anyone?
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,720
    Location:
    UK
  6. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Whippy........bravo............:D

    I am sooooooooooo unlucky that I didn't got hit by the malware. I would love to. You know, whenever my PC gets infected I get a warm fuzzy feeling. :)

    @Baz_kasp

    Just count your blessings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
  7. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    Does it block DNS look-up by inserting an entry into your hosts file?
    If so, OA paid certainly monitors your hosts file to alert you to this.
     
  8. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    Probably not... the "in" way at the moment is to use ndis to block/reroute requests from what I've read....
     
  9. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Don't understand why it disabled System Restore; many people automatically turn to Sys Restore to restore a clean copy. It could just manifest its self within Restore.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.