Wierd bug in MBAM, or just missed malware?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sbcc, May 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sbcc

sbcc Guest

Hi,

I recently posted that MBAM was IMHO far superior at removing multiple infections in real-world situations as opposed to zoo collections. Since I've been home with the flu and have too much time on my hands, I took a clean computer (XP Pro SP2) with the only resident protection (Anti-Vir) turned off and did some web surfing. I'm not a professional tester by any means. I tried to emulate the browsing behavior of some of my customers.

I got a nifty Waterfall Screen Saver for free (180 Solutions/Mirar), then I watched some cool videos (Zango). Then I noticed my computer was slowing down so I got some prorams that said they could fix it (WinAntispyware and WinFixer 2005). All were freshly downloaded and installed this afternoon. I then installed and updated MBAM Free and ran a full scan.

screen3.JPG

No malware found! I left 'em running, even! Here's a second scan with SAS Free, minutes later:

screen4.JPG

The other installed scanners all picked up on at least part of the infection. I really did not expect this at all. MBAM hasn't let me down before today. This is a recent install of XP Pro SP2 that was clean and patched when I started. I had stated that a paid version of MBAM was in my future, but I'm not quite so confident now.

If the developers are looking in, please let me know if there is anything I can do to help you troubleshoot the problem. I did clone the partition before cleanup so the situation shown should be easily repeatable.

2. jtcst

jtcst Registered Member

They probably don't have the exact definitions for it so it can't detect the malware.

3. sbcc

sbcc Guest

Must be. The update file is quite small. This is common malware, though. I'm really suprised MBAM missed WinFixer and WinAntiSpyware.

4. LoneWolf

LoneWolf Registered Member