Why Is Zemana Antilogger Free Dialing Out While I'm Browsing?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by itman, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,910
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nice to see you back online! What is the status of the new ZAL, can you give us a preview? And once again I would encourage you to stop using this method since most of your competitors like SpyShelter also don't do it. And what if some malware disables the AppInit_DLLs reg key? I don't know if this has been already discussed though.
     
  2. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I've been watching this question for an answer, Again Zemana commento_O
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,085
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but I was trying out Zemana AntiMalware and noticed it phoning home as well.

    Bottom line? Uninstalled.
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,363
    It's a cloud multiengine AV what did you expect? That it would work offline?
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,085
    I did not expect it to be phoning home. That said, in the future I need to do more homework before installing anything like this.
     
  6. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,363
    Any AV will call home they need to stay updated
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,085
    No they do not all phone home. Or should I say phone home on a regular basis like Zemana does. Install the free version for yourself and see what it is doing.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,297
    Actually there is a difference to checking for updates and phoning home, at least in my mind there is. EIS checks for updates once an hour or I can set it for once a day. Beyond that I wouldn't expect it to be phoning home.
     
  9. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,363
    We are talking about a cloud av.... At least it needs to phone home upload hashes and eventually files
    Most of the AV have a cloud component EIS is an exception in the actual market.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,297
    Ah, I get it, and also know why I love EIS
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,085
    It phones home constantly Pete. Something I am not comfortable with. I was checking out EIS but it had a few fp's out of the gate.
     
  12. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,363
    Yes you should have SAID that.
    Zemana as any other AV with a cloud component will phone in the regular basis it is needed in other to check files, if you just install it it will be checking many hashes at least at the beginning.
    I know what it does you have been using a negative connotation so if you are implying that they are doing something ilegal or attempting against your privacy say it clearly and let see the evidences

    If you want to understand how a cloud av work and why it generates traffic I recommend you to install SecureAPlus and take a look to the activity log generated by the app itself.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017 at 3:29 PM
Loading...