Why is Windows considered to have a lack of privacy?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by DesuMaiden, Mar 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DesuMaiden

DesuMaiden Registered Member

I don't quite understand why people say that a Windows OS lacks in privacy compared to Linux. I think it has something to do with being closed-source, which means developers can put privacy-compromising backdoors into the source code without you knowing. On the other hand, an open-source OS cannot hide privacy-compromising backdoors in its source code. Is that why a closed-source OS is generally considered to have worse privacy features than an open-source OS?

Please explain in lay-man terms, because I'm no security expert.

2. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

Yes, that's the key point.

Right. But of course, there's no guarantee, for any given code, that anyone knowledgeable enough has actually looked hard enough to find backdoors etc.

Well, a lot more could be said to explain in detail, but that's the basic issue.

It's rather like you're part of a Microsoft botnet. Maybe it's a benign botnet, that just helps keep you safe. But how can you tell?

3. noone_particular

noone_particular Registered Member

The easiest way to see the answer to that question is to pick up a copy of Privazer and run it. Then take a look at the records it finds of how Windows has logged every app you've used including those that were removed years ago, every folder and flash drive you've ever opened and when you opened it last, and all the records it stores on your internet activities.

4. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

Which versions of Win does this apply to noone? XP as well as 7 and 8? I know 8 is a lost cause (I won't touch it or anything after that).

5. noone_particular