Why is this happening?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Dazed_and_Confused, Aug 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    I had TDS-3 hang on me this morning, and I tried to terminate using Taskmgr, and was not successful. The PG Log said it was blocked from doing so, but I thought I had all the proper settings in place. What's up? o_O

    Here is a look at the log entry and program protection configuration.
     

    Attached Files:

    • PG.GIF
      PG.GIF
      File size:
      7.7 KB
      Views:
      156
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Daisie, Have you got "Confirm before quit" enabled in TDS3's configuration?
    Are you getting an HID (human interface device) to complete and clicking "OK to all"?
    I do not use Task Manager ATM but have Process Explorer as a replacement, this requires that the "Allow driver / install services" flag is enabled for it to work properly, so it might be worth adding that to your Task Managers options.

    HTH Pilli.
     
  3. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Or did you try to close TDS while it was busy ?

    If a program doesnt respond to "close" messages within a few seconds, Windows offers/tries to use End Task
     
  4. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Yes.

    No.

    Will give that a try. Thanks! ;)

    It had been scanning, but had stopped all activity (for hours) and was not responding.
     
  5. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Your reply was Yes,
    I would disable this as it could cause a problem with CMH and should not be necessary with CMH enabled.
     
  6. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the quick feedback! I've implemented all of the suggestions. If you don't hear back from me, I've never had this problem again. :)
     
  7. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    While you've not added another reply, I would suggest also checking the following general option in PG:
    "Block End Task". If that is blocked, the "End Task" button in TaskManager won't work regardless of TaskManager having Terminate privileges (these privileges and EndTask being two rather different things).

    HTHH,
    Andreas
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.