Why is my internet browsing so slow?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Wendi, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I have a pretty new laptop (i7 with 6GB RAM) running Win7x64 and IE9. My ISP is Verizon and I have their FiOS 15/5 plan. Running Verizon's speed test confirms that I come close to realizing the plan's rated speeds.

    The problem is that when I first open my homepage it opens quickly, but when I subsequently click on links to open other webpages the wait (which can be 5 to 15 seconds) is painfull! Verizon Support has not been able to remedy this problem so I'm hoping my fellow Wilders members can. :doubt:

    Wendi
     
  2. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Wendi,

    I think that the best approach for you to take with that issue is a 'process of elimination'.

    First, I would run a complete scan with your AV to make sure that some malware isn't hogging your bandwidth.

    If your system is clean, I would then temporarily disable your AV & Firewall to determine if either one of them is the culprit.

    Seeing that you use SBIE and SD, you might try surfing without them (although neither one noticeably impacts my surfing).

    Finally, try disabling your IE addons as one (or more) of them could very well be the culprit.

    Good luck,
    Cruise
     
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    call your ISP and have their tech d00d guide you on how to ensure you have the right DNS settings
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    Also, check the operation with different Wi-Fi networks, and try a cable (Ethernet) connection.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Unplugging the router for a minute can work as well. I'm not sure why, something to do with static charges & modems or something.
     
  6. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Hey guys, thanks for all of those suggestons - I'll try every one of them to see where they take me.

    The really peculiar aspect of this problem is that my initial connection to my homepage is fast. It's just when I click on my linked favorites (like Wilders), or links found by searching, that it drags!!!

    Wendi
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Suggest you try Chrome browser. It's known for its speed.
    When I first switched over (on a machine using XP and not too much RAM), I was quite pleased with the speed differential between IE and Chrome.
    Even today, on my newer machines, with Win7 and 8 GB RAM, Chrome is faster than IE9.

    The other posters have made very viable suggestions. Mine is just basic... try Chrome. :thumb:
     
  8. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    When my internet surfing speed becomes slow which happens only once in a great while sometimes rebooting my modem,router and PC will fix the problem.
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,291
    Location:
    England
    Does the same slowdown with susequent tab openings happen if you try safe mode with networking?
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    If it is a matter of browser speed, how about x64 Opera on a x64 system?
     
  11. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    If all the above fail, why not a nice format? Format is like sending the PC to a spa. The PC comes out of it in good shape, happy and relaxed.
     
  12. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Before you go changing browsers, messing with DNS settings, or formatting the thing, let's go for simplicity first. Answer these for me if you can:

    1. How many programs do you have running in the background (so what all is down there in the system tray)?

    2. What types of programs are they, security, "crapware" (the inevitable junk vendors always pile on new systems)?

    3. You're running wireless..have you properly secured your network to keep outsiders/neighbors from hitching a free ride on what I imagine is your very speedy train? (FiOS isn't available where I live, I'm jealous, lol)

    4. Have you done a virus/malware check yet and did it come up clean? (I realize that was suggested before, but I feel the other questions should be knocked out first, especially if this is a brand spanking new system.)

    With all due respect to Page42, I don't think changing browsers would affect things here. I'm on a wired connection on this system, far far below the speed you have, I'm completely clean from malware and such, and IE9, Firefox and Chrome are just as fast.

    But anyway, let's go for the simple stuff first.
     
  13. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm kind of surprised that no one mentioned this, but have you tried clearing your browser cache Wendi? I know it's a simple thing, but I've seen plenty of browsers slowdown due to a large cache.
     
  14. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Ok, this is what I've done so far...

    I ran malware scans with both Panda and MBAM. They pronounced my system to be clean.

    Disabling my AV and Firewall did not have an appreciable impact and I already knew that SBIE/SD was not the probem.

    Although connecting to my router with an ethernet wire does result in relatively faster browsing than wifi, it didn't really solve my problem (and my wifi is secured).

    I will pursue some of the other suggestions after returning from grocery shopping.

    Wendi
     
  15. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I run CCleaner on a frequent basis, so I imagine that gets done in the process. :doubt:

    Wendi
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    @ Mman79 ...

    Just how complicated do you think it is to install Chrome?
    It probably takes 2 minutes tops. ;)
     
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I'd think to change DNS servers locally. Meaning within each PCs OS(s). NOT on Routers or Gateways. Some DNS servers to look at in no particular order: OpenDNS, SafeDNS, Norton DNS & Google DNS. It is easy to do, change & undo if necessary.

    My browsing is dramatically better without my ISPs DNS servers.
     
  18. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly my thoughts.With that computer specs it should be flying through web pages regardless which browser.My money is on the system is bottle necked with something and changing browsers or DNS will not solve a thing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I still say rebooting the router would probably help. Every so often I get the same problem as you do. I just unplug the router, wait a minute or so, then plug the router back in. It never fails.
     
  20. badkins79

    badkins79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Maryland
    Another basic diagnostic to do: Open your task manager while browsing and see which process if any is hogging the processor.
     
  21. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I never said it was complicated, I just believe most were getting a little too far ahead in the process. What would you tell a tech who, after you described such an issue, simply told you to install another browser? :D

    @Wendi: I'd still like to know what all is actively running on your system, as perhaps there is an ISP-provided program that is causing issues. Some ISPs will either force or "helpfully provide" their own special software, and sometimes the tech installing the connection might configure something in a goofy way or not optimally. You're clean of malware and your Wifi is secured, so those are two big issues knocked out. Try what Daveski said as well. I need to do that on my connection often too (though mostly it's because my ISP sucks, lol)

    @Badkins79: Great idea :thumb:
     
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Well you did say let's go for the simple stuff first, and installing Chrome is pretty simple, my friend.
    And what would I tell a tech who told me to install another browser? I'd tell him thanks for the suggestion, but I already tried that.

    Point being, my recommendation was not an end-all, if-this-doesn't-do-it-nothing-will idea. It was one more thing to try. And simply because IE runs as fast for you as do other browsers, do not doubt me when I say that Chrome made a dramatic difference for me when I first migrated to it, and continues to this day to be faster for me than IE9.

    To my thinking, installing Chrome first (before trying all the other stuff) either makes a difference or it doesn't, and if it doesn't, the OP has two minutes invested in the project and one more piece of information to carry forward.
     
  23. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    How do I do that? ....or is that something my ISP should do?

    Wendi
     
  24. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Daveski, I just tried that - but there is no discernible difference afterwards. :(

    Wendi
     
  25. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Page, if I install Chrome and it does not remedy the problem is it easily uninstalled?

    Wendi
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.