Why is my diff backup so large?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Holo20, Aug 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Holo20

    Holo20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Gurus,

    I've just done a full backup on my Boss' laptop using True Image Home 10. The full backup came in at around 14gb. Now, two days later, I've gone to run a differential backup, but it is telling me the estimated backup size is about 14gb. Why is this? This is the same experience I had when I ran an incremental backup; that file size was slightly larger than the base image!

    Please advise, and thanks for your time.

    -Michael
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Was a defragment run on the drive between the FULL and the DIFFERENTIAL backups? If so, then that's the most likely reason.

    TI goes by the used sectors. If the sectors have moved then TI sees them as changed and backs them up again.

    If this is the case, then schedule (or manually run) the defragment before you do your Full backup and then don't run another defrag until before your next full backup.
     
  3. Holo20

    Holo20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hey MudCrab, thanks for getting back with me.

    I did not do a defrag on the machine. I made the base image, running it to an external USB HD. Two days later I ran an incremantal backup, and like I said the filesize was actually slightly larger than the base. I went Acronis' website and researched backups, and the differences between them. Decided to see what would happen with the differential, and it said the filesize would be about the same as the incremental.

    Maybe I should just make a new base image?

    -Michael
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Some of us only make full images, and this is part of the reason.

    Did you check to be sure your Boss' computer doesn't have an automatic defragging program running or something else unusual such as full disk encryption?
     
  5. Holo20

    Holo20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hi John,

    There is nothing else running. It's actually a totally clean install of XP Pro, was about 5 days old when I made the image.

    He works almost exclusively from home. I was hoping to get it set up so that I could keep the base image at the company, and every night have his differential backup run over the VPN. That will entirely depend of course on what the filesize ends up being on average.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Incremental: All of the data that changed since the last full or incremental if there is one (there isn't so it is based on the full).

    Differential: All of the data that changed since the last full.

    The first backup after the full whether or not it is an incremental or a differential contains the same data.

    Unfortunately, this doesn't solve the original question as to why they are so large. I don't do incremental or differentials so I can't be of much help.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
  8. SloPoke

    SloPoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    Perhaps the second backup was also a full baclup and not a differential as you intended. Use the Mount Image wizard to select the backup file and see if it's identified as "Volume 2 of Multivolume image".
     
  9. Holo20

    Holo20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks SloPoke, I'll check it out.

    -M
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.