Why doesn't Comodo come at a cost

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Albinoni, Jun 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    If Comodo has been regarded as one of the best if not the best software FW than why doesn't it come at a cost. Take a look at ZA Pro, it's a paid version and not free.
     
  2. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
  3. cp4eva

    cp4eva Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    TX
    Comodo
     
  4. tayres

    tayres Guest

    That's what Comodo claims anyway.
     
  5. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Comodo has paid-products for business and freeware for the home-user.
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Reasons are already given in earlier posts. However, it is interesting that you have posted about 3 separate products in recent days: Eset, BitDefender, Comodo. Maybe you want to sell some products? :D
     
  7. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Would love to, planning to become a NOD32 distributor here in Perth WA so going to have a good think of it, also might even do Bitdefender. Like I said this is something I will have to think over.
     
  8. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Some Comodo products, like firewall and AV, are free for business as well. ;)
     
  9. dave88

    dave88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    177
    It does in fact come at a cost, Performance :D

    It is a good firewall though.
     
  10. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If you're referring to Comodo's performance, it's a lot better than the firewall you pay for in ZA. At least it always works and won't trash your computer.
     
  11. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Comodo isn't the first highly regarded,free firewall.
    ZA,Kerio,and Sygate have had free firewalls that were highly regarded before Comodo.
    It's nothing new.
     
  12. Steelhead

    Steelhead Guest

    Any firewall or product will trash your computer, if you don't install it correctly. Especially the left over registry files and any other hidden files that need to be remove for ZA to work correctly.
     
  13. Chappy

    Chappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Comodo's CEO is basically just determined that all PC users deserve to have quality security s'ware, and is willing to give it to us for free in return for word of mouth advertising.
    They make their Corporate Profits from selling Security Certificates to major business sites, and in return we, the public, get the best firewall product tested for FREE!!
    Melih (Comodo CEO) explains all this in the Comodo Forums, where he is a Frequent poster I might add. I find that amazing, the CEO gets right into the forums and roots around with all us regular type users, and answers your questions directly...very COOL!!
     
  14. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Actually, I have seen several software CEO's post frequently in several forums. The Comodo CEO also used to post in this forum but was later exiled.:isay:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.