why does paragon slip the image in different files

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by mantra, Mar 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Hi
    i did a backup/image of 5GB , the partition is 60GB

    i did an single image only 1

    but after i did create the image i found not only 1 file , but more

    why?
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    For Drive Backup products, you can disable the image splitting in Tools > Settings. The same goes for the WinPE Recovery CD. If you are backing up using the Linux CD, archive files will be split regardless. For Partition Manager, you need to open layout.ini in the Paragon folder, and edit:

    Enable image split = on

    to

    Enable image split = off
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    i used the winpe cd

    i bought today Disk Manager 2010 Professional and the winpe
    i will use more the winpe cd , i like more work offline when i have to backup
     
  4. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    The image split is enabled by default on the WinPE CD, you'd have to go to Tools > Settings and uncheck that option before backup.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thanks very kind
    winpe is slow to load compared to the linux version rescue cd
    is no way to edit the linux rescue cd maybe with ultraiso to disable slip files ,ins't?

    thanks again!!!:thumb:
     
  6. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    There's no way to add addition drivers to the Linux environment without having to go back and rebuild the entire CD. The reason the Linux cannot image split is not because of the application but the Linux kernel it uses.
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thank you so much
    i bought Disk Manager 2010 Professional , i hope to have the same features of paragos Drive Backup 10 Professional
    did i miss some features that are not included in Disk Manager 2010 Professional?

    i wanted Drive Backup 10 Professional but at the end i bought Disk Manager 2010 Professional because it could be usefu to work with partitions

    thanks again
    and sorry for my poor english
     
  8. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hard Disk Manager 2010 Professional has everything in Drive Backup 10 Professional. It's a great compilation of most of our core products. You're not missing any key features :)
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thanks

    Thanks Tommy:thumb:
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    can i edit winpe cd?

    Tommy my last question

    i downloaded hard disk manager 2010 pro , installed and did burn the winpe iso,printed the pdf manual

    is there a way to edit the winpe iso? maybe with ultraiso
    i would like to disable
    and set like defaul don't slip image?

    thanks
    i'm new paragon user , i used true image 9 for years
     
  11. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    The agreement is required. To modify the WinPE CD, you'd have to use a winbuilder and edit the layout.ini file to disable the image splitting. In your Paragon Software folder, open and edit layout.ini.

    Enable image split = on

    to

    Enable image split = off

    But you would have to do this to the same file in the WinPE CD after using winbuilder.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    my last question :gack:
    is there a cleaner ? a tool
    to make a fresh install
    i'm thinking about the future updates
    and i had always issues upgrading a program

    a cleaner , a tool.exe to run and clean registy and files could be very useful, helpful

    thanks
    best regards
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.