Why does Microsoft tell me I don't have Windows XP

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pagregg, Sep 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pagregg

    pagregg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I have Microsoft XP on my system with IE 6.0. I have attempted to update to 7.0 but Microsoft site tells me that I can’t because I am not running Windows XP. But I am as it was part of the system when I purchased it 4 years ago from Dell. Can anyone give me some help on this?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello pagregg,

    Do you have XP SP2 on that Dell? Do you have all the patches for the operating system?
     
  3. pagregg

    pagregg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I don't have that because Microsoft tells me that I can't get it due to not haveing XP, but I am running XP.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    What version of XP do you have?
     
  5. pagregg

    pagregg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Home edition version 2002.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    I believe I would ask this question on the Dell forums too.

    If you are running any security software such as firewalls, proxies, etc, you probably won't be able to update until they are configured to let WU check your computer.
     
  7. pagregg

    pagregg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks, I will post a Dell forum as well. I just don't get why the Microsoft site is seeing that I don't have XP.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    If I knew, I would tell you. :D Look around on these forums also. Microsoft
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    windows update will only give updates to customers running service pack 2.
    so if you havent got service pack 2 installed tthat could explain it.
    lodore
     
  10. pagregg

    pagregg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I can't it tells me that i am not running XP.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  12. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    pagregg,
    Did you run this one :
    Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications v1.7.0018.1
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...77-cfa1-47bd-b325-7a6d3893add8&displaylang=en
    If M$ doesn't recognize its own OS, this tool might help M$ to recognize your OS as a genuine, properly licensed Windows XP.

    I hope this helps. :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2007
  13. pagregg

    pagregg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I made a change in the registry and now I was able to get the downloads. It took 3 hours as I hadn't been getting any updates for a very long time. One thing left and that is I can not set my system to automatic downloads. In automatic updates in system properties the option turn off automatic updates is checked and the entire options are grayed out so that I can not change anything. It seems like I have something in my system that doesn't want me to get updates. Thanks again for the help.
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I had no access to Windows updates either, but once I ran the WGA tool, I suddenly had no problems anymore.
     
  15. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Its just a guess,did you recently some editing to the Windows services,one service involved with aut. updating is WUAUSERV.maybe disabled or deleted ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.