Why do web browsers need to create global hooks?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by SpikeyB, Apr 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpikeyB

    SpikeyB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    478
    Just for interest, does anyone know why web browsers want to create global hooks?
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    I believe they are used for things like mouse guestures. Certain other mouse attributes may also be affected but usually with no particular loss of function but not always :)

    Pilli
     
  3. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ANd why does Yahoo! Messenger try to create global hooks? And should I allow it?

    Abhishek
     
  4. Untouchable J

    Untouchable J Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    53
    If your worried about web browsers installing global hooks...just switch to Firefox. Firefox dont install various global hooks.....

    -J
     
  5. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Abhishek - The best course there would be to not grant Yahoo! Messenger the "Install Global Hooks" privilege and simply see whether it affects the operation of the program negatively in any way, functionality-wise.

    If it doesn't, simply leave it like that. Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.