Why aren't processes being monitored by Mamutu?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Hungry Man, Aug 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I have all of those (or at least some of them) set to be monitored but it says they aren't. They're running processes too.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    A bug maybe? I could try in my VM real quick to see if I get the same.
     
  3. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Been like this for a long time. Some of them are monitored.

    I have almost all of them set to be monitored yet rundll32 and aspell.exe are the only two actually shown to be monitored according to that.
     
  4. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    How did you add that exe into mamutu? Mamutu doesn't see it in system32 when i try to add it.

    Edit: nevermind I got it.

    Edit: I'm getting the same results as you.
     
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Hm =\

    The thing is... even Chrome isn't showing up as monitored! Nothing is except for those two programs.

    What the hell?


    Tried disabling Community based alert reduction. No change. =\
     
  6. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Looks like you found a bug?? Maybe ask Emsisoft Support about it?
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I created a source ticket explaining the problem, adding the pic, and linking to this topic.
     
  8. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Sounds good.
     
  9. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Also sent Fabian Wosar a PM directing him to the topic.

    Mamutu is a big part of my overall system security haha I'd like to get it sorted. Hopefully it's just a UI bug.
     
  10. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Hopefully thats the case, being a UI bug I mean.
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    "Hello,

    all valid windows processes are not monitored by default to prevent crashes and incombatibility issues.

    If you have any more questions or problems, just let me know. "

    Apparently if something is whitelisted you can't monitor it? I'm asking some follow up questions.
     
  12. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    I can understand that I suppose. Oh well.
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Hopefully there's some way to fix it. Otherwise Mamutu holds a lot less value for me.
     
  14. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Wouldn't selecting 'Protect this application from process manipulations' offer some kind of (rudimentary) monitoring?

    edit;
    Then again, selecting that option (it isn't greyed out/unavailable for OS processes) would also make these processes more prone to crashes, right?
    I mean, that option means also some kind of monitoring or am I not getting it?
    Perhaps Emsisoft/Fabian Wosar can shed some light here?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  15. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    This is certainly in effect even for whitelisted applications. But it isn't even clear what it does. And I'm looking to stop specific whitelisted programs from doing specific behaviors/ I want them monitored.
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I think it was preventing other applications from manipulating it? :D
     
  17. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Haha, well yes, but what does that mean? =p

    .dll injection, some other patching, opening?
     
  18. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Apparently you can still block/ allow specific processes it just won't monitor for suspicious behavior. Therefor my original plan will work I'm just much more likely to run into issues >_<
     
  19. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Everything is being monitored (with the exception of trusted applications), but there's a design flaw.
    http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/5108-bug/

    If you double click each of the entries in the "Processes" window you'll see the "Monitor this application" box checked, unless you excluded it yoursef.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
  20. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Yeah, almost all of my applications are "trusted" but I'd like them monitored anyways.
     
  21. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Update:
     
  22. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Good to hear Hungry. Thanks for the info.
     
  23. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Hopefully this is resolved quickly as I'd like to start using the protect function to restrict as many applications as possible. I already have my main "attack vectors" restricted ie: Chrome, Digsby, and MiPony. Those three touch the internet the most by far out of any application on my system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.