Why aren't people using Comodo Time Machine?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheMozart, Jan 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    What exactly is wrong with Comodo Time Machine? Why aren't people recommending it and using it? And why can't COMODO fix it if people aren't using it due to certain bugs or whatever else is wrong with it?

    And when I go to click on download, it don't download but takes me back to main webpage, happen for anyone else?

    http://www.comodo.com/home/backup-online-storage/data-recovery.php
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  2. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    I could be wrong but I think it is no longer being developed/supported.
     
  3. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
    U are right bgoodman4
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    As the second posts said, it seems that it is no longer developed.
    And in my experience, out of the few times i've tried and tested it (Probably like 4 - 5 times) it screwed up my PC once COMPLETELY, it was unrecoverable, unbootable, even running a boot up analysis it would not fix it, i had to format it completely.

    But to be honest i think it happened because i forced the system to restart in a hurry while CTM was doing something and after that it screwed up :D :D

    Anyways, the main reason i don't use it is because it is no longer being developed or i would be using it. :rolleyes:
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I've heard the nightmares about CTM. But honestly, even it it was currently developed and a decent program I would not use it. I just don't like being associated with the Comodo drama.
     
  6. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Sounds like COMODO really made a mess of Time Machine then. Oh well.
     
  7. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    They pulled the download from the site. Mostly because of all the drama associated with Rollback RX and CTM. Too bad really. It worked well for me and never had an issue with it. It actually was integrated into CIS.
     
  9. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    With the first release,i've had troubles too,laptop wouldn't boot any more and i had to re-install windows.Very bad experience.
    Now i'm using the 2.8.158286.178 version,and i'm using it for about 2 years now.Never had any problems with it and it's always installed on my system.
     
  10. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    USA
    As others have said, Comodo stopped development on CTM (although there are rumors that it's starting up again)! The story* was that the CTM source code was 'derived' from an older version of Rollback Rx (which Comodo may have obtained in a questionable manner).

    If you really want to try it, you can still download it from Softpedia.

    Scott

    *Fwiw, I heard the very same story re Wondershare Time Shuttle, although WTS wasn't freeware (like CTM).

    Edit: I believe this thread belongs in the section above this one!
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  11. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I use it,never gave me an issue. I use it when I want a squeaky clean image,does the job.
     
  12. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Wow theres a story behind CTM? I never knew that :eek: :eek:
     
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Where have you been noob? CTM was supposedly stolen code or "purchased" from rollback RX. Kinda shady if you ask me.
     
  14. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I've been using CTM for roughly 18 months and am satisfied with it's performance- with this caveat;
    Running XP SP-2 or SP-3, CTM works as described provided version 2.6.138262.166 is used. Version 2.6 does work with Windows 7 but I've used W-7 so little I realy don't feel qualified to render a judgement on how well it works with that OS.
    On my computer, later versions 2.8.... and 2.9... (BETA) produce blue screens randomly in XP.

    The Comodo Forums do reference a new version 3 in development with some added features and claimed added stability.

    I like the program, provided it is version 2.6 and should a version 3 become available, I will try it.
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I've used both and I have to say that I really didn't notice a difference. The only thing that made me wary was the fact that comodo was no longer developing it. I did like the fact that it had options integrated in CIS, when I used the two together. I would love to try it again if they come out with version 3.
     
  16. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    USA
    I guess it does not work with UEFI motherboards, does it? I've tried installing with 2 versions of CTM and it's not able to install.
     
  17. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    So the question is, can I install CTM and not have it permanently mess up my hard drive or W7, forcing me to reinstall W7?

    Which is the latest stable version and where can I get it?

    And will it mess up my MBR and ability to press F11 to restore W7 to factory?
     
  18. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
  19. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I think from what I've read that 2.9 is pretty stable but I would stick to 2.8. A beta is still a beta. I don't care how stable it is.
     
  20. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I really had high hopes when CTM was being developed :(
     
  21. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    So you recommend not install the BETA and install the older stable one? Any reason for suggesting that? Heard horror stories about the BETA?

    And what's the worse that can happen if something goes wrong and how can I fix it? Better be prepared for the worse. Can it destroy my MBR and W7 ability to boot and leave me with no option but to do a complete factory restore?
     
  22. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Why exactly did they stop working on it? Did they give a formal explanation?
     
  23. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    As mentioned above, one of the causes could be that they were being accused of stolen code from Rollback Rx
     
  24. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Will v2.8 Time Machine work on my Dynamic drives?
     
  25. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    It is not developed because people want it for FREE and don't want to pay for it.

    If you have any Windows operating system beside Windows 7, then you will encounter no problem with it. It is basically same as Rollback Rx v7 or v8. Rollback Rx v9 works with Windows 7.

    And, the latest version of Rollback Rx v9, which was released in June 2011, works with SSDs. The earlier versions of Rollback Rx v9 don't work with SSDs.

    It is just keeping up with the new operating system (Windows 7) and new technologies (SSDs).

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.