Whose running HitmanPro Alert, Chrome and Sandboxie together?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Page42, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I would enjoy hearing from any Wilders members who have mastered the fine art of running HitmanPro Alert with Chrome and Sandboxie.
    Anybody doing it... all three together? TY!
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi Page42

    As I mentioned on the SBIE forum, I normally run Firefox, but for one evening I did have Chrome on with both SBIE and HMPA, and saw no issues.

    Pete
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Thanks, Pete. What OS?

    I had issues right away, primarily involving Chrome crashing. I was running the Sandboxie compatibility configuration for HMPA, too.

    As soon as I disabled SB, HMPA definitely ran fine for a while, but eventually, I experienced Chrome crashes (He's dead, Jim!) when trying to open links either in a new tab or a new window.

    To summarize, HMPA with SB and Chrome was a disaster.
    HMPA with Chrome and no SB was much, much better, but problems still surfaced.

    HMPA looks like an awesome program that I would like to run, but I think the key might be to switch to Firefox, which would be one heck of a switch for me.

    I'm hoping to discover a way to run these three together.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    I am running Win 7 X64. When I tried chrome, it seemed okay, but to me if I had a choice I take HMPA because of it's protections.
     
  5. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Yes, impressive protections.
    Isn't FF going through some major rehab at the moment, or is that already complete?
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Page, try disabling Sandboxies Software compatibility settings for HMPA, sometimes they old, don't work anymore or can actually make things worst in your system when they are ticked. Read below, recent post by Focus.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-acquired-by-invincea.357312/page-66#post-2511391

    Bo
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Excellent tip, Bo. I will go that route and let you know. TY!
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, Page.:cool:

    Bo
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    I am not sure exactly what is going at FIrefox, but I am using the lastest version which is version 39
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Pete, latest Firefox is 39.0.3.

    Bo
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,055
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,055
    Yes, it seems that way:
    http://www.ghacks.net/2015/08/10/firefox-40-find-out-what-is-new/
     
  14. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Every month or so I try HMP.A with Chrome and Sandboxie on my 7 x64 machine, but there have always been problems. I'll try Bo's suggestion.
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Thanks guys. I checked a couple of days ago and it was 39. Can't keep up.
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Thanks, justenough. That helps me to know it isn't just my machine. Please post back with any results if you try Bo's suggestion.
     
  17. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Sure thing, I'll set it up this week sometime and let you know.
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I am probably going to try to fit it in tomorrow. I've been looking forward to trying HMPA without selecting the Sandboxie compatibility setting. The one doubt I have is that when I eventually tried HMPA with Sandboxie disabled, I still ran into a Chrome issue... namely, unable to open a link either in a new tab or a new page. Attempting that simple action would result in a He's dead, Jim! crash. We shall see.

    Anyone else with success (or lack thereof) running these three softwares together, please post about it! TY!
     
  19. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,055
    I'm getting similar error on my work computer after updating to Chrome v.44 when opening new tab. It might be a Chrome bug and not HMPA or SBIE.
     
  20. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Possibly, yes, but I will say, the issue only happened when I had HMPA installed and stopped the minute I took it off. Never happened before, hasn't happened since... which might mean everything, or nothing! Ha. Thanks for the input, Minimalist.
     
  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Okay, I'm trying HMPA again with Sandboxie and Chrome. This time, I made no software compatibility configuration changes to Sandboxie, also no exclusions in ESET or MBAM.
    Just load and go. So far so good... including being able to open links in new tabs or new windows. We'll see if it holds up.
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I honestly think this combo is a bad idea. I would advice to use either Chrome + SBIE or Chrome + HMPA.
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Would you also be saying Firefox HMPA and SBIE are a bad idea?
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The problem is that both SBIE and HMPA inject code into the browser, this may conflict with each other. So I'm mostly worried about the HMPA + SBIE combination.
     
  25. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    HMPA has been on this 7x64 machine for 2 1/2 hours and it has passed all of the stability/conflict issues that cropped up for me when I first tried it out.
    Bo gave good advice when he recommended not selecting the HMPA software compatibility setting in Sandboxie. :thumb:

    Edit in: Now running so far so good no problemos on two 7x64 machines.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
Loading...