Who would like to see custom protected folder function for the HIPS

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Habakuck, Jul 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    As the other thread is too old i had to start a new one... https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1888815#post1888815 :rolleyes:

    I got an answer from Eset support. I asked as a "feature request" to implement a function to protect custom folders...

    Answer is: " HIPS is not designed to protect custom folders..."

    So i want to start a litle poll! :D


    Who would like to see such a function in ESET HIPS?
     
  2. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Online Armor has a feature to protect custom folders. It works independent from the HIPS though. It gives you options to protect folder, and registry paths.
     
  3. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Yes and other HIPS can and do have custom folder protection OA, Malware Defender and Comodo (albeit not as flexible as the other 2) to name a few.

    Cheers
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I already protected some folders from modifications, HIPS is a great tool
     
  5. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    @ Cutting Edgetech and chris1341:

    I know that the other HIPS has this feature! So i want to see that in Eset HIPS too!


    @ toxinon:

    You can not do that with the Eset HIPS! I tried that and asked the support about such feature.
    At the moment it is not possible to protect custom folders via Eset HIPS.
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    i tried to delete or modify all files in a protected folder, all were blocked operations
     
  7. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Which rule did you create to get this result?
     
  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    BLOCK write to file, delete file, get access to file, and choose the folder with the "add folder" button
     
  9. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    You can only do that for ONE application by one as far as i can see here...

    So you can set up that rule for the explorer to get asked every time YOU try to access a folder... :D But i want to get asked whe malware or spyware is tryingto do that! ;)
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The feature request has been forwarded to ESET's product marketing for consideration in a future release of the software.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  11. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    =) Thanks Aryeh! :thumb:
     
  12. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    dont think it can do conflict between two or more apps protecting the same things ?? which one will be the first to protect ?
     
  13. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    i won't run two HIPS together! =) That is stupid! ;)

    personally i only run ONE Security Software at time! ONE ! And built in windows security but only one third party security software! Any other option will run into conflicts, sooner or later...
     
  14. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    Sorry, i badly understood you.

    anyway, my question is good. I use Comodo free firewall with HIPS, if NOD32 had HIPS too, will it cause conflicts ??
     
  15. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Personally i wont run them both...

    Drop Comodo and you will be fine... That's my opinion.. ;)
     
  16. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    :doubt: nod32 with HIPS will not be as Eset or Comodo firewall. So i will wait and see how they both can work together
     
  17. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    @Habacuc
    i never said you need to specify a path for the source application (such as explorer.exe) ;)
     
  18. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I just installed the outpost firewall, other components such as antileak, application guard, component control, system guard are not installed, but I manually migrated those same rules to NOD32 HIPS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.