Who uses OpenDNS and MySpace?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by dja2k, May 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I just noticed today that OpenDNS is blocking some Flash Payer content like in Myspace. Anyone noticed this or other stuff its blocking. I don't even have any custom lists in my account, just the usual phishing, but I disabled all of them, and not even like that. I had to remove OpenDNS IP's from my computer and then it worked.

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  2. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    I've never noticed any blocking problems with OpenDNS, gave up on them only because I saw no improvement in horrendous "looking up ..." delays after upgrading to DSL.
     
  3. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Well this is only a recent problem as I barely noticed it yesterday and I hadn't noticed it some weeks ago. I removed OpenDNS as well.

    dja2k
     
  4. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    Do you have and use a OpenDNS account?

    Gerard
     
  5. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I sure do gerard as I mentioned in my first post. I already turned everything off in there and still it didn't work.

    dja2k
     
  6. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    What happens when you renew your dynamic IP address?

    It's possible that filters are active for some IP address, and you happen to get such address.
     
  7. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I already tried everything, but it just seems that when I use the OpenDNS IP's for DNS lookup, I get those errors of stuff not loading.

    dja2k
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.