Who is using KIS 2006 ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by dja2k, Mar 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Anyone out there using KIS 2006 and if so, do you use bitorrent cliets too? If so, what ruleset are you using in the anti hacker settings to allow connections to bitorrent cliets?

    dja2k
     
  2. FadeToBlack

    FadeToBlack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Romania
    I am using it and it runs perfect with BitComet. Haven't tested other clients...
    It seems that the firewall doesn't have the problems the old one has. It is a technical release, so you could say it's FINAL. Don't say it isn't because it is;). I don't think there wil be another build, but who knows...
    KL told us, beta-testers, that it is final. It will be officially released within this month.
    As I said, it runs great, using the allow all connections, as there can't be problems with it, at least for me;)
     
  3. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    another user here :)
     
  4. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    And me too...no problem so far with Limewire in any case :)
     
  5. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Yeah.. Me using it with µtorrent.. No problems..
     
  6. feverfive

    feverfive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    121
    ditto here........speeds are also excellent (on private trackers I average ~600Kbps)...Too bad the beta license expires 4/16/06, and it sounds like licenses for KIS 2006 won't be available for sale until May...
     
  7. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    You can buy a license for KAV 5 Personal Pro, and it will work with KIS 6.0, now and after its officially released!
     
  8. agustan

    agustan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    i was using KIS 2 days ago with utorrent. The problem i have is that the KIS doesn't Stealth the incoming port as i checked it on grc.com. it just "closed" the port when the utorrent isn't running. is it okay just to leave the port "closed" instead of Stealth when the program is not running??

    thanksss
     
  9. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Yeah, as long as a port is closed you are good to go.

    Alphalutra1
     
  10. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    So if you aren't having problems with bittorrent, can any of you using bitcomet or utorrent post the ruleset here? You do know that you can export the rule and open it with notepad right?

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2006
  11. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I don't really know but the anti-spy module isn't ready right? Someone would be better of using Siteadvisor or Netcraft toolbar.

    dja2k
     
  12. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    WoW! KIS caught ccleaner as a riskware.. guess it was because of the damn yahoo toolbar :p

    dja2k
     
  13. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I've gotten several false positives as well.
     
  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Activation codes for another month;

    426AD371-6420-4CCF-9888-C9358E4890B1C
    5288B4AC-B93C-4C1A-BED0-1AA660DB3D085
    68A62B60-CC5A-44A7-BC1F-DBA263FB6A614
     
  15. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I been getting some annoying stuff with anti-hacker where I create allow always rules. For example, I create those rules for regrun's update, but still can't connect until I disable anti-hacker. Anyone having this issue with this program or another?

    dja2k
     
  16. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    UK
    Have got hold of a copy of this program which I plan to buy come may, or maybe now as someone said I could buy the 5 pro version? and use this for full year of kis 6? presumably prices may be higher if I wait till may.

    Have found this program to be very good and passes all the tests on firewall leaktester site.

    Only issue I got is that occasionally avp.exe will shoot to 100% cpu and stay there for 5-10 secs for doing something small like select a different email in outlook or loading an app (even for trusted apps).

    I disabled the email anti spam as I have other anti spam tools and its not very reliable, changed web anti virus to light scanning since IE became very slow with it on, disabled anti spy again because I got other tools covering that area, everything else is on.

    I added some ports for ssl imap/pop/smtp in the ports section and will the email scanner pick up on this auto and start scanning emails on those new ports?
     
  17. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada

    Hello chrcol,

    Disable Application Integrity Control for now. It is known to use 100% CPU on some machines. This problem will be fix on the next MP1 release.:)

    As for myself I don't have this problem.
     
  18. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    UK
    Is this MP1 release before they release the product or will the first pay version have the bug, I dont want to buy it with the bug and then be stuck with it for weeks/months.

    Otherwise your fix seems to have worked I turned it off and immediatly after the problem happened but since then it hasnt happened although I prefer to have it on as I lose security because of it.

    Thanks.
     
  19. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think MP1 will be included in the first release which is due around May15. They have just released the MP1 beta for public testing now and the key code is valide until beginning of july. So I guess this is when they plan to release it officially.:)

    Hope it helps.

    You can always ask the question on the Kasperski Forum.

    http://forum.kaspersky.com/
     
  20. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Are you talking about the application database update for regrun? If so what rule are you creating in KIS?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  21. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Not creating a rule, allow all TCP and UDP access.

    dja2k
     
  22. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I was checking the latest leaktest score for KIS 2006 and I might be understanding this wrong, but it didn't score the best like Outpost nor Looknstop, but why is it a top choice cause of the proactive defense. Is it because they are saying that the proactive defense kicks in the extras to block some of the leaktests it missed? Whats your opinnion on the anti-hacker firewall in KIS 2006?

    dja2k
     
  23. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    If you looked carefully at the last column, KIS 2006 firewall module with the new proactive defense blocked one more leaktest than any other firewall ;) .

    Alphalutra1
     
  24. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Now I see that. Also since in this page http://www.firewallleaktester.com/reward_stats.htm they favor KIS 2006 for best choice and this being a leaktest site that is mostly talked about, would you think that this shows that KIS 2006 has a chance to be in the top suites including a well built firewall that is equalivalent to the top two Outpost and Looknstop? All I am looking for in a response is a personal opinion to answer this and if you want to back it up with evidence, that is fine. Just keeping the topic open and finding out what people think about KIS 2006.

    There is talk that the HTTP scanner in KAV has problems due to the way it handles traffic and may cause some flaws with other software. This might be a bad thing leaving a way to bypass KAV's protection. Don't know too much about that though.

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2006
  25. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    UK
    my kis 2006 blocked every leaktest.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.