who has been updated to the newest nortons??

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the 16.2 version?? i have 5 pc's with nis2009 on them and only one has the 16.2 version now.. anyone else having a issue getting the newest version?
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    there's no problem , they said there taking there time to update . so you will get them in time.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    oh im sure i will i just think its kinda ridiculous imo that 5 pc's in the same household and only one gets the update. i just dont see how they choose which to sent it to and why they dont all get it when doing a manual live update.. just doesnt make sense imo
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    It might actually be a good thing, imagine if the newest version was found to have a serious bug, then all 5 of your systems could be corrupted.
     
  5. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Got 9.69 MB of update today v 16.2.0.7
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i just see no ryhme or reason of who gets which version and when... icr did you get it automatically or did you do a live update? ive been updating this one on my desktop like every hour today just to see and nothing i have got no updates yet
     
  7. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96
    probably works off product key with some sort of algorithm server side

    product key xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx rolls dice, if 1-9 no update, if 10, update, then they go if 1-8 no update, if 9/10 update


    would be my guess :)
     
  8. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I got it automatically:)
     
  9. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Got it after running Live Update on all three systems, it also required a restart of each.
     
  10. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Me too today. But where´s the changelog? o_O
     
  11. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    I'm lucky :D . (NAV2009) On three out off five I received the update. Still waiting for the other two. At this moment those two are having problems. (Security Content A error, after performing a manual update. There's a topic on there forum and apparently I'm not alone. This happend before on one of the five machine. I'm serious thinking on pulling the plug for this AV.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2008
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    all of them got the update this morning so all 5 have 16.2 now..
     
  13. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Dunno if it's still applicable with todays versions....but years ago you could manually jump start an update on any norton/symantec product by doing Start==>Run==>LUALL
     
  14. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    LUALL doesn't work. If I'm right informed, liveUpdate has been redesigned. I do not believe there is an option to remove the virus defs cache.

    Thanks :)

    Update: it seems that for me the problem has been resolved on the two remaining pc's . Liveupdate just delivered a Security Content A update. Now I just have to wait for the program update.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2008
  15. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)


    I've just got it - Today! :D

    I must be one of the last people to get it :(
     
  16. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe not. I haven't updated NIS '09 on a laptop I maintain for a local club for about 2 weeks, but that's because the machine hasn't been used since then.
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I only checked only after seeing this thread... Yup, I have been auto-upgraded to 16.2 !!

    Any one have details of the changelog ??
     
  18. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Changelog:

    http://community.norton.com/norton/board/message?board.id=nis_feedback&thread.id=26534

    - Changes to allow future LiveUpdates better handle error conditions.

    - Fixed an issue with 64-bit LiveUpdate patches.

    - Fixed several Winqual reported errors.

    - Fixed a compatibility issue with Microsoft Outlook Connector after installation of Norton Add-On Pack.

    - Fixed an issue where the product would sometimes interfere with its own ability to match IDS signatures properly.
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    is everyone at 16.2.0.7 thats what all my machines say
     
  20. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
  21. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)


    I've never heard of Security Software before - Where...

    1/ Making a Scheduled Scan is such a.. Big Deal - Hassle - Fuss - Pain! :rolleyes:

    2/ As soon as we have a Big Update such as 16.2.0.7 ...
    Any Scans Scheduled .. Won't Work! :mad:
    Coz... It's lost it's path o_O

    If you ask me...
    Symantec is still running up the wrong dam path.
    Right Into - :thumbd:

    I'm Getting More And More Fed Up With - NIS 09 :mad:
     
  22. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    On the same day as my last post. (18/12)
     
  23. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas

    Since summer 2008 when I first beta tested NIS 2009, I was not able to get LU to work properly and update as it should. Ironically, the latest build actually updated definitions, etc. That said, I gave up on it. When a major player in the AV industry cannot get their product to update properly (Live Update) because of obvious program bugs, you have to ask what else is it not good at doing? My conclusion is that I would rather trust another AV that has always updated properly.

    The verdict (for me) regarding NIS 2009 is a big :thumbd:
     
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    im about to uninstall myself. it removed something tomight and i have no way to find out what. and with a scan with three other products they found nothing.. i want to know what file it "removed" or cleaned and why.. that bothers me more than anything
     
  25. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Hi,

    Just I gone through this thread and check NIS version on laptop.

    It is latest one, it think, it was updated automatically.

    Great, this is first time, when I have kept a security software for long time.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.