Which Windows Power Plan do you use?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Krusty, Feb 27, 2016.

?

What Windows Power Plan do you use, and why?

  1. Power Saver

    1 vote(s)
    4.2%
  2. Balanced

    9 vote(s)
    37.5%
  3. High Performance

    5 vote(s)
    20.8%
  4. Manufacture's Recommended

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Custom

    9 vote(s)
    37.5%
  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Just curious, which Windows Power Plan gets used the most and why.

    I start with High Performance then change the Power button to Shut down and change display to Never turn off, so I guess that means Custom for me.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2016
  2. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,963
    Location:
    Brasil
    I start with High Performance, then disable monitor shutdown, then disable disk (HD) shutdown every 20 minutes.
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    I use High Performance mode and then configure it so that closing the lid does nothing when my laptop is plugged in.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Same, except I use Balanced.
     
  5. Aura

    Aura Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    I start from High Performance, and then customize it from there. So Custom for me.
     
  6. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,015
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    That's interesting. On my older laptop I found changing the power plan to Balanced, then changing the machine to not sleep makes the CPU run at about 3 to 5 degrees C cooler according to Speccy. Strangely though, on my other laptop doing the same increases the CPU temp a few degrees and putting it back to High Performance lowers it again. Stuffed if I know why!

    Edit: That is after leaving both machines idle for an extended time, not during high CPU usage.
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016
Loading...