which version?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by volvogirl, Sep 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. volvogirl

    volvogirl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Hi,

    I just uninstalled NOD32 from my old laptop and installed the cd on my new HP VISTA 64 notebook. I just noticed in my initial email there were diff links for diff window versions. But since I installed it from the cd did it pick the right vista 64 instead of 32? How can I tell?

    Thanks
     
  2. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    Did it install in c:\program files or c:\program (x86) files

    You can also open up task manager or process explorer, egui.exe should be 64bit and ekern.exe should be 32bit

    process explorer http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx

    in process explorer select view\select columns\select process image tab\select image type (64 vs 32-bit)

    BTW you can download the latest version and type from here http://www.eset.com/download/index.php
     
  3. volvogirl

    volvogirl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    It's in the c:program files not (x86). Is that right? What's the x86 for? OK I googled it. x86 is for 32 bit. So it must be the 64bit one!

    Also should the windows firewall be on or off? I see in your signature it says Vista 64 Vista Firewall.

    Thanks again
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  4. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    32 bits application will be installed under "C:\Program Files (x86)" and 64 bit applications under "C:\Program Files". So if it's under "C:\Program Files" it's the 64 bit version.

    Nod32 is antivirus only so it has nothing to do with any firewall. If you want the Vista firewall to be on or off is up to you, but i assume you want to leave it on unless you got some other firewall installed. It doesn't matter for nod32 if on or off tho.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    A 32-bit version won't install on a 64-bit Windows and vice-versa.
     
  7. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    If you don't have a 3rd party firewall installed, then yes TURN ON your Vista firewall. If you installed Nod32 from the cd then chances are you don't have the latest version. The latest version is 4.0.437 I provided the ESET download page in my first post.
     
  8. volvogirl

    volvogirl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Won't NOD32 update to the latest version? I looked at my desktop and it's on 4.0.314. Do I have to do a version update manually? And in the future remember to check here for updates?
     
  9. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    No it will not. You have to download it and install it. You should be able to install it over your current version instead of uninstalling the old and reinstalling the new. You can check back at the forum and there is a sticky thread at the top of the Nod32 forum that the ESET moderators use to inform us when a new build/version is released. Make sure you download the 64bit version.
     
  10. volvogirl

    volvogirl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks again,

    I checked out the sticky. I didn't see a link in it to the update. I probably can go find it myself. Or didn't I see it?

    edit: I FOUND IT! A little word "here" in the first post. Was easy to miss.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2009
  11. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    To answer your initial question, the launcher on the CD checks the operating system and installs the correct software for it.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.