Which router do you recommend?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by rdsu, Jul 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi,

    I have 2 PC in my home, and I want to have both connected, so I've to buy a router...

    Which router do you recommend?

    My Cable Modem doesn't have the wireless feature, but if I buy a router with wireless, I can use it with the wireless feature of my Notebook?

    Thanks
     
  2. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    Yes. That's the way I've it set up.

    Most current models are completely adequate for home use, as long as they support WPA encryption andf you set it up properly. IMO, you will do well with a Linksys, Netgear, SMC, Buffalo, D-Link. I'll also say that the rants and raves I've seen about various products indicate to me that purchasing a bad unit is pretty random - I had trouble with a D-Link, so I returned it for a Netgear that works great. Others will say D-Link rocks.

    All that said, you may want to choose largely on price.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas

    I've been using a Linksys for years now. No problems.

    http://www.linksys.com/
     
  4. Stro

    Stro Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Memphis, TN USA
    Ronjor, let me offer another viewpoint on Linksys. I'm using a Linksys Wireless B Broadband Router, model BEFW11S4 version 4, purchased from Best Buy in March 2004. This router is a pain.

    It frequently just stops working when sitting idle, requiring me to recycle it (unplug the router, then the cable modem, wait one full minute or more, then plug back in the cable modem, then router). I must recycle it once a day, frequently more often. When recycling the router, I must shutdown my internet software (AOL 9.0 for Broadband) or, if I'm not so lucky, reboot the PC.

    Sometimes I recycle the router and it still does not work. I then have to disconnect it completely and let it sit for several hours before connecting it again. By disconnecting it I mean unplugging it from the electrical outlet and switching around the ethernet cable so that the PC is connected directly to the cable modem.

    My kids hate the Linksys router because their PC (connected wirelessly) is frequently out of service. My wife hates the Linksys because most of the time when she wants to get on the PC (the hard wired one), she can't.

    I have downloaded the latest firmware. That seemed to help some, but not nearly enough. I'm planning on contacting their Customer Service to see if can swap out units.

    BTW, I bought a Microsoft wireless router before the Linksys. I also had significant downtime with the MS router. One of their router tech support people told me that MS routers do not work well with AOL software because AOL has not provided something in their software to make this happen. The MS router tech support center has been outsourced to India, BTW. Call Linksys tech support and you'll talk with someone in either India or the Phillipines.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    Router reviews by our peers.

    Routers
     
  6. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    I have a Netgear FWG114P because it has a USB port for a printer, and an RS-232 port for a modem. If you use the USB port, then your router becomes a print server as well. If you use a modem, then the router will switch over to dial-up if the broadband goes down. You can also use the modem to dial into from the outside to access your network, or the internet.

    Close Hauled
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2004
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks for your information ;)
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have sold Netgear Routers for over 3 years, due to quality, ease of use and warranty. We mainly sell as well as use the DG834:

    http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_details.asp?prodID=222&view=

    I have just installed a Netgear FR328S for home, it was set up in a matter of minutes.

    We had a supplier come through on Friday, he is a straight talker, says it like it is. He said in his test that the average area of coverage is up to 30 metres in a normal average timber and plasterboard home, that within the same room you would have full strength, the next room medium strength and 2 rooms away low strength. this does not take into consideration objects such as fridges...

    Throughput from tests he has done are 11Mbs = 3 to 4Mbs actual, 108Mbs = 48Mbs So they are still no where near hard wired standards yet...

    There are 2 grades available for wireless, home and business. If asked we would only start to sell the following "business" model:

    http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_details.asp?prodID=178&view=

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2004
  9. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    I hav3 two 3com 3c510 routers that have worked great for 4 years or so. They might be hard to find now though.

    I know people who have had probs with linksys and dlink routers. I also know people who love their linksys so who knows.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.