Which one of these should I run on which Windows platforms

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by darthsideous666, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant
    I am looking for advice/feedback from those using the following products on either of these Windows platforms. I am looking for whether or not your experiencing any issues (slowdowns, download issues, infections, etc.).

    MSE and Windows Firewall
    or
    Symantec/Norton I.S. Suite (Comcast version)

    I have computers running Windows XP (32bit), Windows Vista (64bit) and Windows 7 (64bit). All are running Internet Explorer 8.

    These would be the only security software running (either or) on each machine.

    I am not looking for a this vs that, only feedback on system resources and issues from those possibly running these apps. on these platforms.

    Thanks
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I've used MSE and windows firewall on one computer and no issues of any kind, this combo has been great.
     
  3. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant

    Thanks Hammer. Can you tell me which version of Windows it is on?
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit.
     
  5. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Using MSE 2.0.657.0 on my work computer with windows firewall and never had any issues. MSE absolutely owns all other free antivirus software.

    Operating system is Windows XP Professional 32 bit.
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am useing Norton Security Suite (Comcast) On XP home and it is very surprisingly light considering what all it includes. I would certainly trust my computer to The norton suite before I would MSE. I had no issues with either apps both run good on my comp. Which ever one you decide on it should work well for you on the machines you mentioned.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2011
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I have used both MSE and NIS 2011 on Win 7 x64 and both are very light with no drag on the system, no issues or problems. Right now I'm using MSE. Which one you use just depends on the features you want I guess....
     
  8. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Among two given choices, I will prefer Symantec/Norton I.S. Suite (Comcast version).
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Several of the last posts are venturing into A vs B territory despite the OP's wishes. "I am not looking for a this vs that, only feedback on system resources and issues from those possibly running these apps. on these platforms."
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  10. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    So have I
    I like Avast Free for XP and Windows Firewall + I would add a router to the mix. Either a stand a lone router or if you have Fios it has a built in router. Routers have hardwire firewalls built into them so you have extra protection if the Windows firewall somehow turns off.

    For Windows Vista or 7 I use MSE and the rest above. I have found that MSE uses too much cpu in XP and runs just fine in Vista and Windows 7.

    The other problem with third party firewalls is the average person has no clue what to allow out or not and if they are prompted to allow something out that is needed by the OS to go out- all of a sudden they find they cannot connect to the internet and haven't a clue why.

    robin
     
  11. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    The problem with having an ISP version is if you change ISPS you can no longer use their software and now you have to go and uninstall it.

    robin
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.