Which is the most reliable version of ATI?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jorge7, Feb 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jorge7

jorge7 Registered Member

I have read with some horror the many problems people have reported on this forum with ATI 11 Home. I also have experienced ATI 11 Home hanging repeatedly on backups. There have been numerous complaints about other versions of ATI Home as well, and some insinuations that ATI Echo Workstation works more reliably. My current computer is a Dell Optiplex 755 running Windows XP Pro SP2, and I use 3 other Dell computers, all running XP Pro. I have used ATI since version 7, always with some problems.

I am a physician and medical researcher and need completely reliable backups. There is no time to chase around trying several different possible fixes and generating the reports that the ATI support team seems to demand of people that request technical support from them. I just need a backup program that backs up and restores absolutely reliably without a problem.

I originally chose ATI because unlike some other image backup programs it lets you select specific folders to backup and can exclude selected folders (eg those with ATI backups of other drives) from image backups. Can any of the following programs do this reliably?

1. ATI 10 Home build 4942
    2. ATI Echo Workstation (Build #?)
    3. Other non-ATI products that can back up selected folders and exclude folders from image backups.

I have already ruled out ATI 11 Home build 8053 based on my own and others' experiences, and would be willing to go back a version or two if it were more reliable. Cost of the program is not a big factor, cost of my time wasted with an unreliable program is a huge factor. I'm all ears.

2. Aussie42

Aussie42 Registered Member