Which is lighter on resources.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Badcompany, Jul 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    755
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Forum,
    Which firewall is lighter on resources,Comodo or Online Armor.
    BC.
     
  2. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    445
    Online Armor
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yup. OA is lighter.
     
  4. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,097
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Agreed, definitely OA2. 2 services oaui.exe and oasrv.exe.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Definitely Comodo 3 Alpha or Jetico 2 (still in beta stage). These are lighter than Online Armor.

    Lightest of all, GhostSecurity but only provides inbound protection ;)
     
  6. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Can't go wrong with Online Armor. I run it along with NOD32 and SuperAntiSpyware Pro realtime and can't even tell any difference with or without them running. At this time OA is XP only; however, they are working on a Vista version.

    The release of a new OA build with new features and improvements is right around the corner, probably next week if all goes well.
     
  7. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Hello!

    Simply, ONLINE-ARMOR :thumb:
     
  8. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    979
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Off topic but can you just install a new version over old version with OA or do you need to uninstall old first? Thanks.

    Gary
     
  9. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    755
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    With any new version of a program I always uninstall the old version, clean with Reg Supreme ( Or registry cleaner of your choice.) and them install the new version.But that is just me.
    Badcompany.
     
  10. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I've used Comodo and am now trialing OA.
    OA is lighter hands down. :cool:
     
  11. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    lighter than Comodo 2.xx of course, but not Comodo 3 ;)
     
  12. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    It is my understanding that Comodo 3 is still in Alfa.
    Is there reliable info that this is the case?
    Just curious, thanks.:)
     
  13. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    I'm using it. Sometimes there is high CPU usage during a few seconds (I think it's a bug) but 99,9% of the times is very light.
     
  14. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Well it's quite reliable and stable especially for an Alpha version, feel free to try it and give us your personal feedback !
    Anyways the Beta should be released in mid-August ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.