Which is lighter on resources.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Badcompany, Jul 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Forum,
    Which firewall is lighter on resources,Comodo or Online Armor.
    BC.
     
  2. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Online Armor
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yup. OA is lighter.
     
  4. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Agreed, definitely OA2. 2 services oaui.exe and oasrv.exe.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Definitely Comodo 3 Alpha or Jetico 2 (still in beta stage). These are lighter than Online Armor.

    Lightest of all, GhostSecurity but only provides inbound protection ;)
     
  6. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Can't go wrong with Online Armor. I run it along with NOD32 and SuperAntiSpyware Pro realtime and can't even tell any difference with or without them running. At this time OA is XP only; however, they are working on a Vista version.

    The release of a new OA build with new features and improvements is right around the corner, probably next week if all goes well.
     
  7. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Hello!

    Simply, ONLINE-ARMOR :thumb:
     
  8. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Off topic but can you just install a new version over old version with OA or do you need to uninstall old first? Thanks.

    Gary
     
  9. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    With any new version of a program I always uninstall the old version, clean with Reg Supreme ( Or registry cleaner of your choice.) and them install the new version.But that is just me.
    Badcompany.
     
  10. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I've used Comodo and am now trialing OA.
    OA is lighter hands down. :cool:
     
  11. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    lighter than Comodo 2.xx of course, but not Comodo 3 ;)
     
  12. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    It is my understanding that Comodo 3 is still in Alfa.
    Is there reliable info that this is the case?
    Just curious, thanks.:)
     
  13. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    I'm using it. Sometimes there is high CPU usage during a few seconds (I think it's a bug) but 99,9% of the times is very light.
     
  14. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Well it's quite reliable and stable especially for an Alpha version, feel free to try it and give us your personal feedback !
    Anyways the Beta should be released in mid-August ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.