Which HIPS is apt for a novice?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jm0307, Apr 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jm0307

jm0307 Registered Member

Dear members,

Which HIPS combines ease of use for a security novice with proven effective protection?

Thank you for your input, and best wishes.

2. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

Go here and click on the green download button. ;)

3. jm0307

jm0307 Registered Member

Hello pvsurfer,

Thanks for the recommendation. I had come across prevx in previous posts and threads in this forum, but so many HIPSs were mentioned that I thought I ask a purely novice related question. I had looked at the websites for System Safety Monitor and DefenseWall, but thought that I might be out of my depth with these programs. Your suggestion appears to confirm this.

I am just beginning to learn the basics of security, and don't even yet fully understand all of the functions of my firewall. I am still grappling with rules creation and protocols and the like... Yet, I do want to become familiar with pc security and think that a certain level of paranoia is probably quite healthy.

Thanks again for the swift repy - a very friendly forum,

Best wishes

Last edited: Apr 27, 2007
  4. jm0307

jm0307 Registered Member

PS: I apologize PVSURFER - have just read the post after submitting and noticed that I misspelt your name - your picture... embarrassing

5. steve161

steve161 Registered Member

That's kinda funny. Back on topic, have you considered using a sandbox type app. I used sandboxie in the past and it is a good, light program and very simple to use. Many post here at Wilder's on the subject.

6. jm0307

jm0307 Registered Member

Hello benny bronx (double checked that),

Unintended humour, I hope pvsurfer is not mad at this mishap.