Which free Windows firewall do you use now?

Discussion in 'polls' started by acr1965, Nov 2, 2007.

?

Which free Windows firewall do you use, if any?

  1. Ashampoo

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Blink

    1 vote(s)
    0.9%
  3. Comodo 2.4

    7 vote(s)
    6.5%
  4. Comodo 3 beta

    10 vote(s)
    9.3%
  5. DSA

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Filseclab

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Ghostwall

    2 vote(s)
    1.9%
  8. Jetico 1

    3 vote(s)
    2.8%
  9. Kerio 2.1.5

    3 vote(s)
    2.8%
  10. NetVeda

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. Online Armor free

    19 vote(s)
    17.6%
  12. Outpost free

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  13. PC Tools

    4 vote(s)
    3.7%
  14. SensiveGuard

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  15. SoftPerfect

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  16. Sygate

    6 vote(s)
    5.6%
  17. Vista firewall

    4 vote(s)
    3.7%
  18. Webroot Desktop Firewall

    2 vote(s)
    1.9%
  19. Windows firewall (SP2)

    16 vote(s)
    14.8%
  20. Zone Alarm free

    4 vote(s)
    3.7%
  21. other free firewall

    2 vote(s)
    1.9%
  22. I pay for a software/hardwall firewall

    21 vote(s)
    19.4%
  23. don't use a firewall

    4 vote(s)
    3.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    There have been a lot of new free firewalls for Windows popping up lately- Online Armor free, Webroot Desktop Firewall, PC Tools, etc. Those are added to the large amount we already had- Comodo, Zone Alarm, Jetico and some of the older versions- Kerio 2.1.5 and Sygate. Which do you currently use, if any?
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Jetico 1 in main PC. Kerio 2.1.5, Ghostwall and ICF (XP SP2) on other PCs.
     
  3. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    OnlineArmorFree.:D :D :D
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Online Armor free here too :thumb:
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Online Armor free here also and am very impressed (more so than any other free firewall I've used and better than some paid versions).
     
  6. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    With multiple computers people often use more than one I'm sure. I have voted for Sygate as I use it on one box, have Comodo on another nad Jettico on yet another.
     
  7. 12fw

    12fw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Canada
    Kerio 2.1.5
    Plus a SPI/NAT router.
    12fw
     
  8. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    As of now I just use Windows built-in firewall coz it don't nags me asking me questions....besides...its light and don't use cpu...and dial up speed is just ok, it protects me effectively from inbound attacks. I think my BoClean will neutralize any trojans that will try to compromise my pc and I also have some other protection softwares. :cool: ;) :D

    Maybe, I will try OnLine Armor...but worried that it might just slow down my surfing speed, ram and cpu and etc...etc...etc...:D

    Are online armor works fine in limited acct, coz this was the acct i always use when i surf the web. ??:rolleyes: ;) :blink:
     
  9. skunkboy69

    skunkboy69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    I've just uninstalled Comodo to try Online Armour but dumped OA due to install licensing farce so it's back to Comodo.
     
  10. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    I switched to OA from Comodo because:

    1.) I have tired of the false positives Comodo popuped. Popup texts do say nothing to inexperienced user (and very often to experienced user as well) It's often hard to make a correct decision.
    2.) Comodo does not have HIPS and can be easily deactivated by agressive rootkit.
    3.) Comodo destroyed my partner program windows activation (so no restore is possible) on uninstall :(
     
  11. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,702
    Hello,

    On Windoze, it's Sygate, for 5 simple reasons:

    1. Steady like an iceber in winter - no crashes, bugs or such.
    2. Extremely light memory / cpu wise even under heavy duress.
    3. Excellent logging.
    4. No slowdown of browsing or anything else.
    5. It was the first free firewall to offer ICS and I loves it.

    Mrk
     
  12. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Kerio 2.1.5 plus NAT Router.
     
  13. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    SPF 5.6 3408
    For many of the same reasons mentioned by Mrkvonic.
     
  14. dogma

    dogma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    138
    Windows (SP2) firewall.
    Reason - I hate pop-ups!
     
  15. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Online Armor free.
    Switched from Comodo which wasn't a bad firewall for me.
     
  16. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    PCTools V2 not V3
     
  17. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm using WinXPproSP2's Firewall + router at this moment, no icon, no messages, I don't even know if it does something.
    Look'n'Stop lost its activation code and/or serial number too often and I'm not going to beg each time for another activation code and serial number.
    I didn't have time enough to look for another firewall, because I was reinstalling my computer, so Windows Firewall was the quickest solution.
     
  18. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    335
    Using Vista's firewall behind a router firewall from a standard user account (Vista HP). :)
     
  19. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Zone Alarm, XP firewall, and Sygate on different machines.
     
  20. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I suppose for the purposes of the poll, if you have more than one Windows box just list the appropriate answer for your main computer.

    thanks
     
  21. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    At home or office...always behind a NAT router.
    Laptop..when on the road....Windows firewall (XP or Vista) is fine for me on the few times I boot to Windows.
     
  22. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    What's the actual cpu and ram memory usage with Online Armor free? o_O :rolleyes:

    Did it affect net speed, coz I am on slow dial-up? :doubt: :oops:

    How can you compare it with Webroot Desktop Firewall? :rolleyes:
     
  23. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    Kerio 2.1.5 with Smoothwall out front. Even if I didn't use a hardware firewall, I'd stay with Kerio. It's never let me down.
    Rick
     
  24. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    It doesn't really matter which firewall I use :
    1. Anything that passes my router, will be stopped by my firewall.
    2. Anything that passes my firewall will cause a change on my harddisk.
    3. Anything that causes a change on my harddisk, will be removed by FDISR.
     
  25. attila4000

    attila4000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Rahway, NJ, USA
    you should have added hardware firewall and/or nat only. no software firewall active. thats what i use. see sig below.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.