Which firewall with Microsoft Security Essentials?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by makios, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Hi people on Wilders,

    What would be the most compatible / secure firewall with MSE?

    Makios
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the ones you have listed in your sig are as good as others
     
  3. HJO

    HJO Guest

    I think it depends on what you do with your PC.
    I use Windows Firewall (Most compatible with MSE IMO).
    For average home users like me, WF is enough again IMO.
     
  4. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    I used MSE with pctools firewall for a while, it was lite and no conflicts that i could see apart from slightly slow to boot. I just use windows vista firewall on my notebook now.I tried privatefirewall too ,it was also ok.
     
  5. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Windows 7 Firewall and add Windows 7 Firewall Control.
    I use it with MSE on W7 64 bit with no troubles.
     
  6. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Trying out only WF now on both systems, also decided to use it with Nod32 on the desktop.
    So far so good and 'so fast' :)

    I hope it protects enough.
     
  7. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I think a lot of firewalls now are changing to using WFP (Windows Filtering Platform) and should generally be a lot more compatible with programs such as MSE.
     
  9. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Tested ZA once again. Seems to slow down.
    Just installed PC Tools FW Plus 7 beta.
    Testing it right now.
     
  10. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    uninstalled pc tools 7 beta.
    did not remember all my answers (but it's still in beta)

    what about comodo without defense+ ?
     
  11. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Or can Defense+ be used together with MSE ??
    Do they conflict?
     
  12. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Noone? :'(
     
  13. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    Very few people use MSE with third party firewalls(thats what i think)..and most people are too busy talking about their own setups and have little time to try anything for others:D
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I think very few people use 3rd party firewalls full stop. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=276348
     
  15. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Okay, I understand.
    I tried Comodo with both options (with and without Defense+) myself in the meantime :p
    Comodo seems to make my netbook react later / slower either way, so I'll try to get used and trust the WF .. :D
     
  16. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    I would like to add that if you decide to use third party firewall go for pctools it works great with MSE and is lite for notebooks:thumb:
     
  17. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I'm using Comodo firewall with it and it's working perfect (just firewall installed, no D+ and sandbox)
     
  18. Metastasio

    Metastasio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Use the built-in Windows 7 firewall. No others are needed and can slow you down. Supplement with a sound NAT firewall that is locked down.
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I have used it with zone alarm pro...no problems at all..:D
     
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Just a word of caution. ZA never released a ZAfree 9.3.014.000 only retail versions.
    It is probably an early internal beta, that leaked out. It may contain broken ZA code. :)

    Thanks,
    Fax
     
  21. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    Fax it looks like you are Right per ZA website. On8-1-2010 I DL + Installed Ver 9.3.014.000 . For a Cripple it Works OK for Me.
     
  22. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Great! If you have problems you will know why ;-)
     
  24. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I got ZA Free 9.3.014.000 from filehippo. It's still listed as latest version.

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_zonealarm_free/
     
  25. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Its not an official release and according to ZA staff potentially dangerous. At least this is posted by ZA staff inthe forum.

    So, you are advised :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.