Which firewall with Microsoft Security Essentials?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by makios, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Hi people on Wilders,

    What would be the most compatible / secure firewall with MSE?

    Makios
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the ones you have listed in your sig are as good as others
     
  3. HJO

    HJO Guest

    I think it depends on what you do with your PC.
    I use Windows Firewall (Most compatible with MSE IMO).
    For average home users like me, WF is enough again IMO.
     
  4. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    483
    I used MSE with pctools firewall for a while, it was lite and no conflicts that i could see apart from slightly slow to boot. I just use windows vista firewall on my notebook now.I tried privatefirewall too ,it was also ok.
     
  5. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Windows 7 Firewall and add Windows 7 Firewall Control.
    I use it with MSE on W7 64 bit with no troubles.
     
  6. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Trying out only WF now on both systems, also decided to use it with Nod32 on the desktop.
    So far so good and 'so fast' :)

    I hope it protects enough.
     
  7. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,001
    I think a lot of firewalls now are changing to using WFP (Windows Filtering Platform) and should generally be a lot more compatible with programs such as MSE.
     
  9. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Tested ZA once again. Seems to slow down.
    Just installed PC Tools FW Plus 7 beta.
    Testing it right now.
     
  10. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    uninstalled pc tools 7 beta.
    did not remember all my answers (but it's still in beta)

    what about comodo without defense+ ?
     
  11. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Or can Defense+ be used together with MSE ??
    Do they conflict?
     
  12. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Noone? :'(
     
  13. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    483
    Very few people use MSE with third party firewalls(thats what i think)..and most people are too busy talking about their own setups and have little time to try anything for others:D
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,001
    I think very few people use 3rd party firewalls full stop. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=276348
     
  15. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    Okay, I understand.
    I tried Comodo with both options (with and without Defense+) myself in the meantime :p
    Comodo seems to make my netbook react later / slower either way, so I'll try to get used and trust the WF .. :D
     
  16. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    483
    I would like to add that if you decide to use third party firewall go for pctools it works great with MSE and is lite for notebooks:thumb:
     
  17. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I'm using Comodo firewall with it and it's working perfect (just firewall installed, no D+ and sandbox)
     
  18. Metastasio

    Metastasio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Use the built-in Windows 7 firewall. No others are needed and can slow you down. Supplement with a sound NAT firewall that is locked down.
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I have used it with zone alarm pro...no problems at all..:D
     
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,838
    Location:
    localhost
    Just a word of caution. ZA never released a ZAfree 9.3.014.000 only retail versions.
    It is probably an early internal beta, that leaked out. It may contain broken ZA code. :)

    Thanks,
    Fax
     
  21. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    Fax it looks like you are Right per ZA website. On8-1-2010 I DL + Installed Ver 9.3.014.000 . For a Cripple it Works OK for Me.
     
  22. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,838
    Location:
    localhost
    Great! If you have problems you will know why ;-)
     
  24. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I got ZA Free 9.3.014.000 from filehippo. It's still listed as latest version.

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_zonealarm_free/
     
  25. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,838
    Location:
    localhost
    Its not an official release and according to ZA staff potentially dangerous. At least this is posted by ZA staff inthe forum.

    So, you are advised :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.