Which firewall and AV do you use?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rimo2008, Sep 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
    Windows Vista Firewall & Norton AntiVirus 2009.Very light:)
     
  2. StevieE9

    StevieE9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Hardware Router NAT FW with rules.
    Comodo Professional v3 software firewall
    AVG 8 AV/AS
     
  3. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Main PC
    KIS 2009
    DefenseWall

    Backup PC
    Avira Premium
    Vista Firewall Control
    DefenseWall
     
  4. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    ESET Smart Security (also behind a router).
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i use windows xp2 built in firewall and couple of sandboxes thats all to it:D
     
  6. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Hardware Firewall only and no Real time AV.
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,145
    i use TREND MICRO IS 2008 OR
    AVG 8 paid COMODO firewall SAS FREE CCLEANER
    JUST WAITING TO BE INFECTED?
     
  8. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    LOL - if that ever happens please let me know. Something I have never managed to do.
     
  9. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Looking at the bunch of boxes around...

    1/ Avira Antivir Premium + Comodo Firewall Pro (XP SP3)
    2/ NOD32 3.0 + Windows Firewall (W2003 R2 SP2 x64)
    3/ Avira Antivir Free + Online Armor Free (XP SP3)
    4/ COMODO Internet Security 3.5 BETA (Vista Ultimate SP1 x64) :ninja:
    5/ no AV + iptables (Gentoo Linux)
    6/ no AV + iptables (IPCop Linux router)
    7/ no AV + no FW (embedded Linux @ Synology DS107 NAS)

    :D
     
  10. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    PA
    KIS 2009 right now for both, plus router. I prefer products from outside the U.S. for the main security, though could go with an American one if the security was layered.

    The other home network computers use McAfee, though those aren't my computers.
     
  11. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Hi Richard, see my sig below.
     
  12. Nitrous

    Nitrous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Russia, St.Petersburg
    kaspersky
    ...sometimes eset
     
  13. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    144
    I am using a different combo on my different systems:

    1. Eset Smart Security
    2. NIS 2009
    3. Nod32 2.7 AV w/ Outpost Firewall Pro
    4. Avira free w/ Outpost Firewall Pro
    5. I forget as I haven't booted it forever.
    6. Bah ESS I think


    My favorite is Outpost firewall pro along with AV of choice.
     
  14. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    COMODO Internet Security - (OK, So the AV isn't "good" at the moment like (NOD32, Avira, Kaspersky, Avast!, etc) But I personally believe the AV in CIS has alot of potential and in the long run, It should be quite good.
     
  15. drakeman

    drakeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Panama
    Outpost Pro (latest) with Avira Premium (latest) all behind a router!! i dare anyone who wants to infect or do anything with my pc heheh (just kidding)
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Norton 360 for everything on Vista x64.... Router sitting on the floor in the corner, I'm too lazy to hook it up after the move..... or maybe just reliving the past for a while without it.... :)
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    With XP: Look'n'Stop, no AV
    With Vista: Comodo Firewall Pro 3, no AV
     
  18. Waterfox

    Waterfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    Sweden
    Using Avira Antivir Premium and windows xp firewall.
    Runs as smooth as silk.
    This combo works great for my pc, having tried numerous other av's, but for your system maybe something else fits better, you should try few and see.
    Cheers!
     
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,378
    Location:
    Hawaii
    SPI/NAT router
    Avira Premium
    RealTime Defender (network mgt active)
     
  20. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    NIS 2009....at the moment.


    Cheers
     
  21. Salsaerrol

    Salsaerrol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Sophos AV + Firewall
     
  22. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    KIS2009 on PC and Laptop.

    Also do a scan every 9-12 months roughly using a SuperAntiSpyware or MBAM and an online AV scanner.
     
  23. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    615
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    KIS 2009
    ESS 3
    :D
     
  24. The_1337

    The_1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    112
    Isn't this topic exactly the same as this one?
     
  25. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    Ireland
    I now use Avast after a number of years with Nod32 and to be honest I don't see a single bit of difference. With my kind of surfing could probably survive without AV.

    My firewall is ZA V7 free. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.