Which AVs give you an option to scan archives in real-time?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Firecat, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It so happened that I was downloading the EICAR double zipped file and it turned out AVG doesn't detect it until I extract it - twice. After doing a few tests, I found eScan and PC Tools allow you to tweak settings so that archives containing malicious files are detected by the real-time scanner within certain limits.

    I know it is not a security risk. But, it isn't a nice feeling for some to have random zip files lying around that will only be detected at the next on-demand scan.

    So, which AVs are you aware of that give you an option to scan archives in the real-time scanner? :)
     
  2. er34

    er34 Guest

    Kaspersky, Norton, ESET, Microsoft - they have such an option

    But only in Microsoft it is enabled by default. I really don't find scanning archives in real time necessary
     
  3. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Avira allows archive scanning rel time
    and if i am not mistaken Kaspersky and Bitdefender too
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    Avira:
    Avira Free Antivirus 2013 User Manual. PDF page 90:
    http://www.avira.com/documents/products/pdf/en/man_avira_free_antivirus_en.pdf
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Scanning archives in real time could really slow down your PC. :rolleyes:
    As some of the members mentioned here, scanning archives with the real time scanner would be almost useless IMO because most of the time they have some kind of parameters to follow to avoid slowing down the PC too much. Why not just right click and scan manually, this way you could scan the archives without the restrictions.
     
  6. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Twister. You can even specify how many layers deep you want it to scan. I think it goes like 9 layers deep (or was it more?). :D
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I see absolutely no point in scanning archives on-access. Unless you're running a file server FTP/HTTP. This is really the only exception.
     
  8. i_g

    i_g Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Posts:
    133
    You can configure avast! like that as well - but as already said, it's not a good idea. When you download (or just copy/update) a huge archive on your disk, your PC might be unusable for a few minutes (in extreme cases)...
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Besides, AV like avast! already do archive scanning by the Web Shield. So low overhead while still checking the archive content at entry point but not wasting resources with on-access scanner. Basically best of the both worlds.
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    In case of Avast, it's fine. In AVG, however, the Online Shield only checks files upto a size specified in the options, which is a default of 200KB and a maximum of 20MB (and archive scanning is disabled by default). I have no qualms if a webshield does it like in the case of Avast. But in AVG, raising that limit to even something like 5MB caused a notable delay in page loading. With eScan things were better.

    I guess it isn't necessary, but IMO archives upto say 5MB can be easily scanned without huge slowdown on most modern computers in real-time. I do feel AVs should provide the option to the user. Thankfully many do :)
     
  11. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    It is enabled by default in Norton too.
     
  12. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Trend Micro also has also the possibility to scan in realtime the content of archives.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.