Which AVs are you running together?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Crinie, Sep 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Which AVs are you running consecutively without any conflicts?

    On one 32XP box I am running Panda cloud, Vipre, and Avira

    On another 32XP box I am running Threat Fire, Malwarebytes, Panda, and Avira.

    No snags so far or any errors, they seem to get along fine. ;)

    The box with Vipre slows a bit as it reads "everything"
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Eset and Avira ;)
     
  3. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    When I tried ESET it seemed to hog the CPU a bit more than Avira or Malwarebytes
     
  4. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It's been asked before but why in the world would you want to run more than one full time AV?
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The key word here I think is consecutively not concurrently. I don't believe full time protection is active on all of them at the same time. At least I hope not.
     
  6. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Why running more than one (1) AV on a Real-Time basis? o_O o_O
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    And why not, I started to ask myself. I own both till 2015 and started thinking that it stinks I cant use both together, so I decided to do just that.

    We run multiple other security apps, that just happen to not be labeled antivirus products, but in reality most are or work the same way.

    I have been running Eset V5 AV and Avira AV together on a computer for quite awhile. Eset is the main and on Avira, I disabled web and email scanning. But they are both active scanning in real time, and guess what..............

    Not a bit of slowdown and memory usage is basically uneffected. And yes I have seen both detect and actually its pretty cool.

    Just because others say it wont work, doesnt prove they know what they are talking about.:D
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    And what is the difference between my setup and Eset and WSA. Not a bit, but I like mine better.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    o_O It's not just any average guys saying that it's not recomended, but rather it's the people who know the programs best. Those being the people who work for the companies that created the software. Are you saying that you know better than them?
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    My son left inadvertently his mobile inside the pocket of his jeans while being machine washed, and guess what... His mobile was still working perfectly afterwards!

    I suppose that if it works in one of your machines it doesn't mean that one can generalize, proof is that some AVs won't install if they detect another one pre-installed. I've heard it can be done (my sister in law has two installed), but is it really worth the risk? Particularly considering that most people's main reason for running without an AV is that it affects significantly their system. I'm running Avira with MBAM but at least one of them is on demand.
     
  11. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    I hope you at least disabled Panda Cloud's behavioral blocker. And by the way, both Panda and Avira have autorun options in their settings ON by default.
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,729
    Location:
    localhost
    :thumb: Yes, and conflicts normally happens behind the scene (e.g. OS hooks and API calls) not always evident to users. So, even if everything seems to work from the outside does not mean that conflicts are not happening. :) Don't run multiple on access tools at the same time unless they are specifically design to. Simple rule to stay away from problems.
     
  13. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    Running Trustport AV (both engines enabled real-time) and MBAM Pro concurrently.

    Crazy, I know.
     
  14. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
  15. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Surprised to see a number of you doing this :D But hey, if it works with NO serious side affects and/or massive overheads, then if it floats your boat = :)

    A proper test would be with some real Nasties, a few Rootkits, Trojans, MBR changers etc. That would sort the men from the boys :D Be VERY interesting to see the results :thumb:
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Maybe, the more AVs you run simultaneously, the less often you will need to change your setup! :cautious:
    Like if you ran 4 or 5 at once, you might stick with that combo for a week. :D
     
  17. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Pro AND Windows Defender!!!:cool:
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Just the facts from fax. :thumb:
     
  19. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Doesn't seem true on my 2 boxes, no errors in system logs either.
    The only times I've ever seen an AV conflict is when 2 different AVs are running the same engine.
     
  20. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Yes, I've run those 2 together before, never saw an apparent conflict.
     
  21. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    the article just shows some AVs don't get along, I've seen that first hand.
     
  22. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    tried it, Avira always catches it first, Vipre second.
     
  23. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    I see a biased conflict of interest there, it also depends upon what flavor windows you are running, service packs, drivers used, other software programs used, etc..
     
  24. carat

    carat Guest

    ... to slow down your computer :thumb: :p
     
  25. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Nope, that's exactly what I am not looking/hoping for, which is why my laptop only runs Panda
    The AV's I am using are not system hogs (except for Vipre)
    the others (not mentioned here) I've tried at different times and don't use cuz they take up too many resources IMHO
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.