Which AV/FW Used By system mechanic

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Legendkiller, Dec 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    Does anyone know which AV and FW is used by system mechanic?
     
  2. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
  3. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    It was Panda a couple of years back.
     
  4. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    wow,i went to the link and according to it,even the firewall is from kaspersky...it means that their pro version has kaspersky IS..

    I am really impressed with new version and i think i will buy it..
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    If you have several computers it seems reasonably priced as one license can be used on up to three computers.

    However, before buying it is worth checking whether SM7 Professional will be able to receive Kaspersky version upgrades.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Interesting. I like Kaspersky. But not system mechanic.

    Is it possible during installation to not install the system mechanic component?
     
  7. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    As far as I know, SM7 uses IOLO developed AV and FW.
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    SM6 definitely used Kaspersky, , but whether SM7 does o_O
     
  9. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    I bet its CA eTrust antivirus with different interface. That "Snooze" feature reminds me on CA :)

    Just installed it..
     
  10. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    yes....what abt the firewall?? and is it running light?
     
  11. bluessential

    bluessential Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I just installed SM7 and the antivirus is broken. Contacted Iolo for all the good that did and finally downgraded back to SM6 and Kaspersky antivirus and anti hacker. Then removed SM6 and re-installed SM7 without the offending Iolo antivirus and anti hacker. SM7 :thumb: Iolo Antivirus :thumbd:
     
  12. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Iolo System Mechanic Proffesional version 7.03 uses Authentium AV 4.6.
    Bad move switching IMO, Kaspersky even though older was still better than Authentium.
    [F-Prot users/developers don't take this the wrong way]

    Also, anyone seen the option to enable right click scanning, I was planning on giving my license to a family member but without even the option to right click scan....
     
  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I doubt its Authnentium. Iolo AntiVirus and Firewall released separately are home-developed products with Iolo's own engine:

    http://www.iolo.com/company/pressrelease.aspx?pressreleaseid=CFF3B09D-D784-45A3-B1A7-356CB93C23D4

    I hope that makes it a bit more clear. If I find a trial, I may download it and see what exactly is going on with Iolo AV. Though I must say that it is VERY strange to see that Iolo's customers wanted a security suite comprised of pure Iolo products. I think its just PR bullshit from Iolo.
     
  14. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The "trial" is actually a downloader that goes on to download the rest of the setup. This is not something I particularly like, and hence I skipped trialing it.

    But in the meantime, there seems to be more and more evidence that the AV is indeed based on Authentium. For example, several log files I've seen have Authentium folders along with Iolo AntiVirus being installed.

    So yeah I think its based on Authentium. :)
     
  16. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    And this page confirms it:

    http://www.authentium.com/developers/

    Appears like both Aluria and Iolo use Authentium AV.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.