Which 3rd Party FW's run under Windows 7 and/or in 64 Bit mode?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Escalader, Nov 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hello other Firewalls people:

    This is a selfish thread! :eek:

    Since I'm getting a Windows 7 (Ultimate) i7 notebook with a 64 bit RAM with 8GB. Anyway, I'm trying to develop a list of 3rd party 2 way FW's that do one of two things, will install and run under windows 7 and or work as native 64 bit applications.

    Now I think OA has a beta version under windows 7 and I know I can download an install a 64 bit version of Outpost FW Pro 2009. In both these cases I think they run as 32 bit on the 64 bit environment. But I'm not the official source on this question. What about Checkpoint? PC Tools etc?

    PLEASE DON"T TURN THIS THREAD INTO X IS BETTER THAN Y WHICH IS BETTER THAN Z. THIS THREAD IS JUST AFTER FACTS, Windows 7 and or 64 bit that's it.

    BTW, apparently W7 comes with a 2 way FW like vista did so later on I will look at that product. It may be that I don't need any 3rd party tool for FW purposes:doubt:
     
  2. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
  3. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Thanks Creer, I'll add it to the "list".

    But to answer your question the answer is no I haven't tried it.
     
  4. Tadoussac

    Tadoussac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    118
    My OS is Win7 x64.

    I installed PC Tools Firewall Plus 6.0.0.81 after reading that the firewall was compatible with Windows 7 - both 32 and 64 bit.

    There is only 1 installation file - it's supposed to support both 32 and 64 bit OS'es. During the installation, the default location suggested was C:\Program Files (x86) - which is the 32 bit location. I manually changed this to C:\Program Files - which is the 64 bit folder; and everything proceeded normally, and everything is working smoothly.

    Is it REALLY a 64 bit app? .... I can't find any way of knowing for sure. Nice firewall though.
     
  5. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    If you look at task manager you will see *32* next the service if its running in 32bit mode.
     
  6. Tadoussac

    Tadoussac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    118
    Thanks Fajo! Very helpful hint.

    By the way, PC Tools has the *32 description - which means it is NOT a native 64 bit app! I guess it's one of those 32 bit apps that are designed to run on 64 bit OS'es too. Although I like the firewall, I am not pleased about the ambiguous way that software vendors like PC Tools communicate this issue.

    Dammit! - this should be crystal clear BEFORE the application is installed! :thumbd:
     
  7. HappyRain

    HappyRain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Thanks for the thread, I have essentially the same question.

    I just bought a new laptop with Windows 7, and disappointed that Kerio 2.1.5 doesn't run on it (old software anyhow). The thing I miss about it the most is... I felt it did what I wanted a firewall to do, without a lot of bloat and stuff I don't want.

    Specifically, I'm mostly interested in having a firewall independent of the operating system and hardware manufacturer that lets me know what's trying to call out, as well as what's trying to call in.

    I have Privatefirewall 7.0(20.31) installed on my computer right now, although I'm not a fan of the interface and some of the "features" that it comes with. I posted that a few days ago in another thread.

    So, yes, I'm also interested in whatever lists/ideas anyone is able to generate. I know I'm probably asking too much out of a free lunch (firewall), but it would be great if someday a new product becomes available that was like the version of Kerio I liked... no-frills, no-nonsense, no visual razzle-dazzle, small download size.
     
  8. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    It is not important if the Firewall or AntiVirus Product runs as 32- or 64-bit!
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Good point!
    Is there any real advantage to run a software firewall in 64bit? o_O

    Fax
     
  10. czullo

    czullo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    firewall should have dvirer for 64bit! if you have 32 bit its only gui
     
  11. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    If it runs properly under 64-bit (so have 64-bit driver) there is noo need for a 64-bit firewall process!

    Look at avast 5. It is running great on Win7 64-bit but as a 32-bit process. No matter at all.
     
  12. sourav_gho

    sourav_gho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    141
  13. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Frankly Company's should be moving away from 32bit Processes to eliminate Emulation. 64bit has been out of a wile company's really need to stop half assing products, Sick of company's doing just enough to get by.


    With the move to 64bit, Especially with the release of Windows 7 more pressure should be put on company's to be full 64bit compatible not just half.
     
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Is it actually what happens? Emulation? Or simply 64bit compatible drivers running in a 32bit interface?
    What is actually the advantage of running a firewall in 64bit? Firewall does not really consume much memory or CPU, so... what?

    From what I understand software to be defined as 64bit compatible must have 64bit drivers. So, main system files will be 64bit anyway, while for example, the GUI can be 32bit.

    Did I actually misunderstood it?? :)

    Fax
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  15. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Sorry I think I put it wrong.... Emulation of the processes not the driver. I just want to see full 64bit No needing the emulation of the GUI or anything else, It would just be a step in the right direction. And if someone don't start it we will be stuck in 32bit/64bit as long as 16bit/32 bit was. Just makes things more of a mess then needed in my own view. :cool:


    Sad part with 16/32bit we finely get rid of 16bit apps only to move to 32bit/64 bit. Its a SAD Cycle lol.
     
  16. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    There is no advantage running a Firewall/AV as a 64-bit process.
    Of course it needs a 64-bit driver! Otherwise it wouldn't work but it won't eat more CPU or RAM if the process runs in 32-bit.
     
  17. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    This is OT as the OP was only a fact gathering post which do which don't run under Windows 7 64 bit. But I'll post this from the Eset forum here on the "need" then please can we just move on ?


     
  18. czullo

    czullo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    antivirus/antimalware dont need driver, but firewall need driver to work propertly
     
  19. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    As mentioned in the OP this is a fact gathering thread only.

    Rather than wait I thought with your cooperation, I would post my incomplete and not uptodate table as is for your corrections.

    Again we don't need the debate that 64 bit FW's are not required here. If that chat is needed it must be a different thread of your own PLEASE.

    Regards to all
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    What the hell are you the form police ? Add information if you like but leave the bossing around to the Mods, Where it belongs.

    Also Zone Alarms newest edition 9.1.008 is Windows 7 Both 32 bit and 64bit Running it here. Comodo also has a 32 and 64bit Version both Windows 7 Compatible.
     
  21. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,274
    Eset forum? Are you sure? I see it here
    http://zurich.ai.mit.edu/hypermail/thinkpad/2009-10/0139.html
     
  22. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
  23. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I found this on Jetico, but it's hard to believe there's no Win 7 x64 if there is Vista x64. You can at least add Win 7 support, it's listed on their site.

    Jetico Personal Firewall operating systems support

    Windows 7
    Windows Vista
    Windows Vista x64 edition
    Windows XP
    Windows XP x64 edition
    Windows 2008 Server
    Windows 2008 Server x64 edition
    Windows 2003 Server
    Windows 2003 Server x64 edition
    Windows 2000
     
  24. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Okay, I filled in one cell for Jetico. Thanks for working on fact gathering as I don't have time to hit each vendor site. I'll post the updates later if I get any more feedback.
     
  25. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Private Firewall is missing

    Windows 7 version: 7.0.20.32
    Single 32-bit/64-bit installer, 64-bit installer runs in 32-bit mode.
    FW processes also run in 32-bit mode.
    Process Monitor component is disabled with 64-bit.
    http://www.privacyware.com/PF_support.html

    Some other 64-bit FWs are also missing.
    Comodo Firewall (CIS)
    FortKnox Personal Firewall
    Rising Personal Firewall 2010

    Cheers
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.