Whether or not to use an Acronis Secure Zone?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by marmoset, Dec 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marmoset

marmoset Registered Member

Hi, I'm new to both the TI software and these forums. I've been doing my best to read up on the Help files and forums for a definitive answer to this question but wasn't able to find it, so I thought I'd post the question myself.

I have two internal drives, C and D. I'd like to create a backup image of C onto the D drive. Should I do so within an Acronis Secure Zone on D, or just in a regular partition (and why)? Are there any advantages to using the Secure Zone on a 2nd internal drive, or am I making this more complicated than need be?

I would imagine a possible advantage to using an ASZ would be if a virus on C was nasty enough to find the D drive and corrupt it too. But having such limited ability to view the contents of the ASZ -- through the Restore Data Wizard -- seems like the main disadvantage to using it.

Thanks in advance,
    Chris

2. foghorne

foghorne Registered Member

The secure zone can give you automatic archive management (i.e. if you keep creating images, once it fills up it will try to expire the oldest one to make space). However I understand this feature is built in as standard to V10 using backup locations, and in any case is doable using multiple/alternating scheduled full and incremental backups.

Because it uses a non-standard partition type the secure zone can obfuscate data from users. This is a mixed blessing since whilst it prevents users from accidentally deleting backups, it makes it harder for an admin to see what backups exist.