Where is my backup??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by optique, Apr 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. optique

    optique Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Newbie here, Using TI 11 home from retail box on Vista, I made a complete backup of my c drive.

    I booted with cd and tested backup as good.

    I can restore individual files from image with no issue (except speed).

    I notice that TI says "System state warning:No backups have been created yet." Is my backup no good? Should I repeat?

    Then, when I go into Manage BU locations and archives, I don't see my backup. What is going on?

    Not sure if this matters, but I had updated my software from download.

    Any tips appreciated.
    Steve.
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi Optique, welcome to the Forum... :D

    You can find your backup as you would any file. Using the search option in Windows simply look for files with the filename *.tib This will list all the True Image Backup (.tib) files on your system and where they are located.

    WARNING

    Be very careful... If you attempt to restore a system partition backup, back to the original location, and things go wrong you will be left with an unbootable system :oops:

    When you restore a partition the very first thing that ATI does is "prepare" the environment, which in simple terms means that it clears the partition in preparation for the restore. If the archive is corrupt or there is a problem with the restore process, you will be unable to recover your system.

    System partitions should ALWAYS be test-restored to a spare disk. There are no exceptions to this rule.

    T.
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    “I notice that TI says "System state warning:No backups have been created yet." Is my backup no good? Should I repeat?”

    I think that’s a message TI puts up if you haven’t run a SCHEDULED backup task. Do a forum search for that message and see if you find anything. I think it’s just a TI quirk.
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    YOu should compeltely ignore that warning!. Somebody goofed at Acronis when they decided to put in that cockamaimie alert system. All it can tell you is if any scheduled backups have been run with the ATI scheduler, which, of course, one normally wouldn't see if one was using scheduled backups because one wouldn't be regularly starting up the user interface in ATI -- the whole of scheduling is to get things running automatically. It has no bearing on whterh backups have been run, whether the backups are valid or have bit faults, or any useful information whatsoever. Truth is, Acronis really got caught doing the pooch on this one. So just ignore that alert since all it really means is ATI has more work to do in it's programming and quality control shops. The only reason they haven't done anything about it even though 5 months have passed is that they have more serious problems to work on re ATI11 than the je ne se qua alerts.

     
  5. optique

    optique Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    About the misleading messages about No backup: I guess I will have to wait till I do a scheduled backup. I did research the message in the forum. Thanks TheWeaz and Shieber.

    About Manage Backup Locations telling me I had no backup locations: I added the location. Now things look normal there. I was concerned the ADD process would delete my backup!

    One new question: Should the backup validation take many hours to complete? My 55GB backup was validated in over 3 hours. This was booting from the media, and accessing the external usb 2.0 hard drive.

    Thanks for the great replies and this forum.
    Steve.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If the drivers on the Recovery CD don't match your hardware, you can see long times like these. Basically, it looks like your hardware is run at USB 1.1 speed instead of USB 2.0 speed.

    As long as the backup validated successfully, it should also restore successuflly - although sloooowwly. If you are not planning or restoring regularly, that's not so bad.

    A later build of TI may support your hardware better and get the speed up to where it should be.

    If you want faster restores now, build a BartPE or VistaPE boot disk with the TI plugin and use that. It uses the Windows drivers which match your hardware.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello optique,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8053) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    It's strongly recommended to connect USB drives directly to the computer (i.e., not using any USB hubs), and use rear USB connectors to reduce overall cable length.

    If that doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep the external drive in question connected and powered on during the creation process.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.