Where does it come from?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Iluv3cats, Jan 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iluv3cats

    Iluv3cats Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    I am not sure about some stuff having to do with spyware. I have spyware blocker but I don't understand how spyware gets on my computer. Do you have to go to a site and then that site puts the spyware on your computer? How does the site block list get populated? For example if I find a spyware that is blocked that has a pornographic name, does that mean that someone using my computer had to have gone to a porn website?
     
  2. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Hi there Iluv3cats,

    Welcome to Wilders!


    Are you saying this is all you have running on your pc is the spywareblocker ?

    If so...it most definately isn't enough to keep pests out of the machine.

    Just simply visiting a website can lead to trouble, especially when your computer is not tightened to maximum security levels.....including running several
    security-programs, which are so many available. ;) :)

    Please post of if and what else you have installed to protect your pc... Thanks.
     
  3. Iluv3cats

    Iluv3cats Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    I have McAfee security center using the antivirus and antihacker features. Also I was told to run a scan on my computer using spyware blocker, and have no idea how to do that.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    I'll move this to get more attention.
     
  5. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    That you have an anti-virus and anti-hacker protection is a very good start.

    But noadays more applications are necessary to keep other "nasties" at bay.

    You may want to look into this Site. It may be a bit overwhelming..but gives you good programs to choose from if you like.

    I tried to go to the section: " New, general, information & FAQ's...but this link doesnt work for me at the moment. You probably would want to read the thread
    "Why did I get infected in the first place. Tells you what to do and what good programs to add to your existing ones. :)


    I don't have Spywareblocker, but there somewhere in the applications, there must be a "Scan" feature. It would be a surprise if there wasn't.

    I hope this helps a bit.


    EDIT: Here's the link for additional info and downloads to assist your existing
    security programs: GreatStuff
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2005
  6. Iluv3cats

    Iluv3cats Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Thank you Nat, I will check into the link you gave me. I'm still curious how this stuff gets on my computer. Do you have to go to an x-rated site to get x-rated spyware? I don't know if that makes sense or not. When I look at the block list and there is the name of a site that is obviously pornographic, where does it come from? Does anyone know how I run the scan?
     
  7. karel.

    karel. Guest

    Hi

    Well... i have McAfee Security Center on an other machine.

    ***For a virus scan:

    *right clik on the M on the systray**go to Virusscan**clik(left one) on antivirus analyze**on the pop up box,clik on "analyze".

    ***For a spyware analyze:

    *right clik on the M on the systray**go to Privacy service**clik(left) on "open Privacy service"**on the pop up box, clik on anti-spy software**and clik analyze now (on the left of the box).

    It's an exhaustive product.So take a litlle time to read the manual.

    kareldjag

    Regards
     
  8. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    You are welcome :)

    But no...the "Blocklist" shows all the sites that are...well, "blocked".
    When and if you or someone were visiting one of these, they couldn't do as much damage or none at all as if it were "out on the loose".

    And there are a dozens of pornographic-sites that are blocked...thank god.

    Spyware can also enter your pc by downloading applications....example: Music-downloads, clicking on links, etc, etc,....many options available to get infested.
    Besides your Security-suite...Most of us here recommend also "SpywareBlaster" (to prevent "bad sites" using the infamous ActiveX control to be run on your pc.)

    Really sorry to say that I don't know about the "scan" thingy. All you have to do is just click the scan button in your spyblocker - and voila!
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2005
  9. Iluv3cats

    Iluv3cats Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Thank you but I don't have the privacy service, I only have the antivirus and antihacker activated. I would have to purchase the privacy service. Is there any other way to do this?
    I can't find the scan thing anywhere on my spyware blocker, I can do an update. Where do they get the files from to do the update? I guess maybe that is the scan?
    Thank you all so much for helping me.
     
  10. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    no, the "scan" would only be there to check - (scan) your computer for any pests that may be on it.

    Do you have an "Update" button in your security-suite ?
    If indeed you'd have to buy the privacy service , which I assume comes with it, the way I understand......there are many good privacy software out there that are totally free.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
  12. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds

    Thank's ronjor. I finally managed to do so also....Edited my post # 5.
    But it's probably gotten "swallowed" up, lol :D
    This is a very informative link, isn't it. :)

    Hope Iluv can find it useful.
     
  13. Iluv3cats

    Iluv3cats Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Thank you to all who responded. I will do research on the information that you gave me.
     
  14. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.